Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been getting errors trying to use Cxbx and I think I've narrowed it down to it not being compatible with 64-bit Windows. All of my PCs run x64 so I don't believe I can currently check out what you guys have been up to (unless there's a workaround that hasn't been posted). I tried exporting the executable and setting various compatibility settings on it to no avail. Do you have any plans to support this and is it any kind of priority to do so? Not asking for a timeframe, just wondering if it's something I should be looking forward to or if there's no bother checking back often for updates. I have an original Xbox and all of my games legit so it's no big deal, I'm just a big emulation fanboy! :thumb:

Btw - willing to test any x64 builds you might want checked out, I have a dedicated "oops that wiped my O/S" partition because I'm a developer myself. :cool:

·
Registered
423 Posts
Cxbx uses LDT (Local Descriptor Tables) to make it possible to have a separate TIB (Thread Information Block) for the Xbox-side of the emulator (Cxbx switches between a native and Xbox version of this constantly). LDT is not available on x64, so that's why you won't be able to run it on 64 bit Windows.

There's a possible work-around, but no-one has ever submitted a patch for this; The general idea is to patch all game-code that references the Xbox TIB (by way of relative addressing of the FS-register, mainly) and alter that code to be able to run on the win32/WOW64 TIB. If you're up to it, I can give you a head-start with part of a working prototype that was done a while ago...

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3