Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
I'm?
Joined
·
1,866 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a problem in installing win2k on my system i don't know it just hang when it will detect my keyboard and mouse, the one that will say installing and detecting such as keyboard mouse and youre screen may flicker blah blah blah thus my mother board have conflict w/ win2k (asus p2v-b) :(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,238 Posts
first make two partitions on ur hard drive.
(i ll explain how i made it w/ my comp. I have win98 and 2k)
use fdisk for example
then with ur newly second partition, don t format it.
then boot from the cd of win2k
just choose the spqce on ur hard drive u haven t allocated to an
OS, then format with FAT 32 or NTFS (win2k supports both, win98 or ME supports only fat 32)(bTW could someone explin to me what s the technical difference between these two? thx)

that s it now.

if u have problem again w/ ur MOBO just put what s exactly written plz


bye
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
513 Posts
>i don't know it just hang when it will detect my keyboard and
>mouse
This sounds like an incompatibility between Win2k and some piece of hardware. Though it may not be an option for you, open up the case and either remove or disable any hardware that isn't necessary. Should this allow you to get Win2k installed, add each peripheral one by one, installing updated drivers as you go. Since I'm not familiar with your motherboard, I can't say for certain, but does it include any special drive controllers or the like (like a RAID array or somesuch)? If so, get the necessary drivers for it before doing an install of Win2k and copy them to a floppy. With the floppy in the drive, start the Win2k install and when it prompts you, press F6 and select the proper driver.

>bTW could someone explin to me what s the technical difference
>between these two? thx
If you're not concerned about maintaining compatibility between earlier versions of Windows and 2000, choose NTFS. NTFS is journaled to a certain degree, so losing power in the middle of writing a file doesn't tend to cause corruption plus you don't have to wait for Scandisk to run after a crash or power loss. In addition, NTFS supports sparse file support, so files that are large in size yet contain large areas of blank space (often the case with binary log files and database records) actually store only the used portions of the file, which saves on space. NTFS also allows for dynamic movement of your files and applications, so when you move an app to a different volume or area on disk Windows won't have to go out and search for it. Though provided by add in file system drivers, NTFS also supports OS level file encryption and compression. 2000's file system also allows for files that are larger than 4GB in size.

FAT32, on the other hand, has none of the above features, is limited to files of 4 gigs in size (under most circumstances), but is compatible with updated versions of Win95, Win98, Linux, and BeOS. Some will also claim that FAT32 is faster than NTFS and while that may be the case on some systems, on mine there's very little difference.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,238 Posts
Thx cluthu

the reason why I asked it it s because I haven t noticed either a loss of speed.
so i m a bit more intelligent now. :D

bye
 

·
I'm?
Joined
·
1,866 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i tried that before i remove all execpt my videocard but seems the result is the same btw what is RAID?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
513 Posts
>RAID
Redundant Array of (Independent/Inexpensive) Disks

>i tried that before i remove all execpt my videocard
Could you try doing a clean install of your earlier version of Windows then doing an install of Win2k directly afterwards? You might also want to do a search on DejaNews and seeing if anyone else has had the same problem.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,506 Posts
4GB max size on fat32? I thought the largest was 2GB. At least that's what I gathered from virtualDub's help file.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
513 Posts
>4GB max size on fat32
It may be 2, I haven't used FAT32 in quite some time so I'd forgotten some of the details.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
230 Posts
You can Install 98 S.E. on NTFS....

Good explanations cluthu....

One more thing, Please do not try to install 2000 then 98... Most systems wont do it... It will tell you that a newer OS is aready present and not allow you to install.. So install 98 then 2000... Just a quickbit... And you dont nessisarly have to use seprate partions, but its highly recomended....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
230 Posts
Oh yes... in 98S.E. (fat 32) 4 GB is the largest file... Usually only Databases or Video files become this large... and unfortunatly i have both...
 

·
Bip...Bip...
Joined
·
970 Posts
As said Rargh and Dan, The best, at begining, is to install, for compatibility and sharing reasons, Win98/Me on one HD partition and W2k on an other one and let's say 2GB for that one (Win2000 is able to read FAT32 partitions but the reverse is not true).

If you're using large files with more than 4Gb capacity on FAT32 you'll get opening errors. NTFS is able to manage very large file sizes of sevrals Terabytes.

For people like me doing bigs mpeg (OpenDML AVI files are limited at 4GB) videos files you have to go to NTFS.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
230 Posts
(Win2000 is able to read FAT32 partitions but the reverse is not true).
FAT32 is not able to read Win2000??

hehehe...

Yes, 98SE with the NTSF patch can read NTSF just fine... To install 98SE (not first edition, or SE upgrage), there is a TSR that you can download off Microsoft that will allow the patch to be applied before 98SE is installed...

But, why would you want to install 98SE anyway? Or ME??
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,307 Posts
> But, why would you want to install 98SE anyway? Or ME??

I'd guess masochists would to get their thrills.
 

·
Bip...Bip...
Joined
·
970 Posts
Dan, Yes I know it, but you, have you already tested this patch? It's a bullshit. it's so slow that you can't realy work with.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
230 Posts
Actually, its not bullshit...

And yes, i have tested it on over 100 workstations...

And no, it is not slow...

It works great!
 
1 - 20 of 30 Posts
Top