Im looking for a new intel mobo
Who makes the best

btw I have a p4 2.8

any reccomendations of a specific one

oh yeah and will a pci express nvidia card work with a regular pci slot

·
!!!METAL UNCLE!!!
1,951 Posts
ASUS, ABIT and MSI are good motherboards. Soltek also makes decent ones, but i heard Chaintech is something to be avoided. p4 2.8? That processor is quite new. Is this the comp that doesnt have mobo with agp slot? I thought that making of cheap mobos without agp slot stopped years ago.

·
Registered
401 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
yeah Im afraid so
I cant understand why doesnt have one

However the pci express line works with just a standard pci slot Ill be in good shape

·
!!!METAL UNCLE!!!
1,951 Posts
Can you post a pic of your mobo? I would be interesting in what it looks like. Or can you atleast figure what model is your mobo anyway?

I have no knowledge about PCI express so i have no comments on that.

·
I Burnt The Toast!
1,493 Posts
ASUS P4P800-E Deluxe or any of the P4P800 series will be just fine, and decent cost.

·
Nobody Knows Him
526 Posts
meh, i got a MSI but that one is broken

I have heard alot good about ABIT

·
PCSX2ベータテスター
1,457 Posts
leadtek for me

·
Registered
7,330 Posts
Albatron/Asus here. :cool:

·
Registered
780 Posts
I really like Albatron, but I broke my friend's mobo and gave him mine in a form of apology (I had built his comp with the same Albatron mobo I had) So for the time being, I'm on this outdated Shuttle. I may end up jumping straight to an athlon 64 instead of the mobile barton I was planning on getting.

·
Registered
608 Posts
IMHO: I don't think PCI Express Video cards will work with regular PCI slots. If they do, wouldn't it be really REALLY slow because of the bandwidth?

·
Registered
6,964 Posts
I'll have to say ASUS boards are king. I own 6 of them ranging from 486 Socket 3 all the way to PIII Socket 370.

·
Premium Member
12,032 Posts