Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I would be extremely grateful if someone could point me in the right direction here. Basically I am new to programming languages, although I have worked with html for quite a while. I am looking to create a website that undoubtedly requires some form of coding, but I am not sure which language would be the most appropriate for this task. This is what I basically would like to do:

I wish to create a website that allows people to upload images and put them on my website in the image category that they think they should go. I would also like people to have the ability to search for a particular type of image and to add comments to an online forum kind of thing next to each image. I would also like the website to manage its self in respect to the way that it displays the images on website pages, for example, newest images first, largest images first etc.

Please could someone tell me which programming language would be most suited to this task as I do not have a clue?!

Many thanks in advance

Sharky

·
Transcended
1,416 Posts
That's gonna be a big task. If you don't want to go for a pre-made system, you'll be needing ASP/PHP and perhaps Javascript (client side technologies) and a database system in the back end to manage the data.

On the pre-made side, Coppermine is exactly what you need. However, integrating it into your site in a seamless fashion is something I'm not knowledgable in. If it's OK to have Coppermine's look and feel, then you can go for it.

There are Content Management Systems that allow you to blend your site (if created/maintained using the CMS) with Coppermine. Mambo and Drupal (if you grab the necessary, and free, 3rd party extensions/modules). If you do decide to just get a CMS, you can take a look at http://opensourcecms.com/