Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Okama Way!
352 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I need some suggestions on which firewall to change to.

I have been using Zone Alarm free edition for over a year with no problems, then when I started playing WoW I was getting many lag/disconnect problems, getting no support from the tech department I thought it might be my firwalll and switched to Kiero free edition, WoW now works fine. The problem is that Kiero is rubbish, I've been getting messages from my anti-virus (Avast!)saying that it has blocked access atempts that I never used to get b with Zone Alarm so it must be down to Kiero. I also cannot access the onfiguration menu in Kiero, it crashes every time I try.

So, I can't use Zone Alarm and I don't want Kiero, the new one I use must be free (not just trial version) anyone got any suggestions?

·
Back to regular business
3,258 Posts
I've been using Sygate Personal Firewall (SPF) for two years now and I haven't had any problems with it, yet. IIRC it is said to be one of the best free Firewalls you can get.

·
!!!METAL UNCLE!!!
1,951 Posts
Except Sygate Free firewall hasnt been updated for looong time. Its way outdated and already has some holes. Though i use it too, since ZoneAlarm started giving me trouble.

·
Back to regular business
3,258 Posts
Well, there might be a small problem. Since Sygate got "conquered" by Symantec, support for old Sygate products including the personal firewall has been cancelled completely. Sygate Personal Firewall is now called Norton Personal Firewall... Although the interface looks pretty much like designed for idiots, now. And it'll propably eat twice as much resources as the Sygate one...

·
Registered
5 Posts
F-3582 said: