Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first time building a computer and i'm stuck on a few things

I have an area called Panel1 on the motherboard where I'm supposed to connect all the indicator LEDs and switches, but I am not sure where they need to be connected (specifically, where should I connect the power switch?); i've attached a scan from the manual

also, i do not know how to orient these wires, since each pin has a certain function... how do i tell which pin corresponds to what wire? (i notice an arrow pointing to one of the end wires in a plug, does that signify pin 1?)

thanks in advance

·
Premium Member
26,303 Posts
Normally the coloured wire is + (or _p in this case)
I'd say the layout was:
It's quite obvious what the connectors are for. Power_SW is quite obviously the connector for your power switch.
Blue and white should be the power switch.

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
thanks for the quick replies

what is the fp pwr/slp for pins 2 and 4?

*edit

and just to make sure:
the manual tells me for the power LED
pin 1 ground
pin 2 nc
pin 3 power

should the arrow be attached to pin 3?

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
hmm, the computer won't boot into anything....

i'm using an intel 845e motherboard that is supposed to support 1.4 ghz p4 - 2.0 ghz on a 400 mhz or 533 mhz fsb; my chips is a 1.5 ghz 400 mhz fsb

the cpu and power supply fan turn on, but i get no video output (no bios....), which is going through a tnt2 agp 4x (supported by the mobo)

where and how should i start troubleshooting?

·
Premium Member
26,303 Posts
>what is the fp pwr/slp for pins 2 and 4?

My guess is that they are for a Power/sleep button, which most likely you don't have.

> the manual tells me for the power LED
pin 1 ground
pin 2 nc
pin 3 power