Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
245 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's the best Lewpy's GPU configure playing FFIX ?

What's the best Pete's dx6 D3d driver 1.49 configure playing FFIX?

What's the best sound plugin for playing FFIX?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
356 Posts
Best sound plugin is the null2's... it's fast and it has good quality.
I don't know about graphics... I only use software ones...
ugly but no other works :(
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
538 Posts
Originally posted by ahtze
What's the best Lewpy's GPU configure playing FFIX ?
This is the config I use, and I find it works well. Watch out though: people round here can debate on which SPU to use until we all get thoroughly bored ;)
Code:
    Lewpy's Glide³ Plugin Configuration Information v1.34
    -----------------------------------------------------

Computer Information
  OS        : Microsoft Windows 98 SE (v4.10 Build 2222)
  DirectX   : DirectX 8 or better installed
  Processor : Intel Pentium III, 802Mhz (1 off) (00/0683)
              16kb L1-I, 16kb L1-D, 256kb L2 (on-chip)
  Memory    : 256Mb

Core Emulator
  ePSXe     : C:\EPSXE\EPSXE.EXE
            : 05/05/2001 16:49, 150016 bytes

*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*
| Type |         Name         | Version |       Date       |
*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*
| BIOS | scph7502.bin         |         | 17/07/2000 23:28 |
| CDR  | W9XCDRCORE           |  0.0    | Plugin Not Found |
| GPU  | gpuLewGlide.dll      |  1.34   | 07/05/2001 17:39 |
| SPU  | SPUCORE              |  0.0    | Plugin Not Found |
*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*

*-----------------------------*---------------------*
|  ePSXe Configuration Item   |   Current Setting   |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| Sound Enabled               | Yes                 |
| CDDA Enabled                | Yes                 |
| XA Enabled                  | Yes                 |
| XA Read Enabled             | Yes                 |
| SPU IRQ Hack                | No                  |
| CDROM Drive Letter          | J                   |
| CDROM Accurate Timing       | No                  |
| Disable CDROM Status        | No                  |
| Disable CDROM RT Status     | No                  |
| MDEC Enabled                | Yes                 |
| MDEC Timing Enabled         | Yes                 |
| SIO IRQ Always Enabled      | No                  |
| Country                     | AutoDetect          |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*

Glide³
  Board     : Voodoo5 (tm)
  Version   : 3.10.00.0658
  File      : C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\glide3x.dll
            : 21/11/2000 11:28, 331776 bytes

*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| Plugin Configuration Item   |   Current Setting   |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| Active Configuration        | 1                   |
| Active 3dfx Card            | 1                   |
| Enable HotKeys              | Yes                 |
| Resolution                  | 1024x768            |
| Refresh Rate                | 60Hz                |
| Emulate MASK Bit            | Yes                 |
| Dynamic Texture Caching     | Yes                 |
| Custom FrameCap             | 10Hz                |
| On-Screen Display           | Off                 |
| Frame Skip                  | Disabled            |
| FrameRate Limit             | Auto                |
| System Type                 | PAL                 |
| FrameCap Method             | New                 |
| Draw Method                 | Bright              |
| Alpha Blending Mode         | Advanced            |
| Bilinear Filtering          | Enabled w/o Sprites |
| Alpha Testing               | Normal              |
| FrameBuffer Access          | Write               |
| Off-Screen Drawing          | Extra+FBR           |
| Polygon Mode                | Textured            |
| Texture Windows             | Enabled             |
| VSync                       | Disabled            |
| Banshee Code                | Disabled            |
| MDEC Format                 | Texture             |
| Experimental Flipping       | On                  |
| Experimental Screen Sizing  | On                  |
| FrontBuffer Rendering Fix   | Off                 |
| FF7 TextureWindow Fix       | Off                 |
| DMAChain Fix                | Short               |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
Lewpy,

Very handy! To save us the trouble of searching for this later, perhaps you could add a few of these suggested configs to the readme file of your next release? The sheer volume of requests for FF9 config requests on this board are amazing. Feel free to throw in Chrono Cross too. :p

Jonathan
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,307 Posts
The problem is a lot of people don't read readmes. Maybe there should be an emulator configuration site.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
154 Posts
I was just having a bit of a read through a few post and i noticed that in lewpy's post the reported plugin version v1.34
and the currently available plugin ver being 1.33
Are we going to see anohter release already?, so soon after the last. Although I dont have any trouble with your current plugin (it rocks)
or with most of the past ones for that matter, but a new version is always welcome.
Anyway, just curious.


~fluffy~
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
538 Posts
Originally posted by fluffy
I was just having a bit of a read through a few post and i noticed that in lewpy's post the reported plugin version v1.34
and the currently available plugin ver being 1.33
Well, as soon as I release a version of my plugin, I am automatically working on the next version. I have to do this, otherwise version control goes out the window :) So any posts you see from me will probably include information from an unreleased version of the plugin, which is very much work-in-progress.
It doesn't mean a new version is just around the corner, as I may be working on this release for months ... or days ... it just depends. It's done when it's done ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
50 Posts
why is that you have draw method at bright instead of multipass, the visual quality seems to be much better than bright.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
513 Posts
>why is that you have draw method at bright instead of multipass, >the visual quality seems to be much better than bright.
Though it may just be my setup, when using the config that Lewpy provided multipass makes the game run rather slow (I'm using a Voodoo 3 3500TV).
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
538 Posts
MultiPass is slower than Dim or Bright, and it may well be bugged ever since the changes I made for bilinear filtering (back in v1.19, I think).
Bright suffices for most things, and is fine for my usage.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
52 Posts
its suited for YOUR usage allright. But i think that since you made that function availiable for user switch into it, that peticular function bug free (the supspicious "maybe" used).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
50 Posts
another thing, is there a fix to the MDEC's playing poorly when using null's SPU 1.3x? the first movie plays fine but the rest are not. and i beat the game using multipass the first i played it so i dont think it was bugged (v1.31)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
513 Posts
>Best sound plugin is the null2's
While we're on the subject, has anyone had any problems with the sound after restarting a game from ePSXe? Null2's sound plug-in works perfectly fine..until I save the game and later reload. Event sounds and such (selecting menus, moving the cursor, footsteps, etc) work fine, but there's no music and generally when an MDEC plays there's no sound then either. Oddly enough, after I enter a battle the music will restart and sound works correctly afterward. Has anyone else had this problem?

My config is as follows:
Null2 ver. 1.3.1.1
Attributes: 22050Hz, 16bit
Buffer length: 50
block: 5
Checked: reverb, force VAG 48khz, enable VAG stream, and linear interpolation. I've tried it with "Force VAG 48khz" both checked and unchecked, but there was no change.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
35 Posts
I take it by "save" you are referring to savestates? Null doesn't support savestates in an incarnation that works with Chrono Cross, so sounds are blippy and odd when you load a state until you enter an area with new music, at which time everything is fine again.

If you're talking about saving to a memory card, I haven't heard anything about it.

I got tired of switching to the internal spu for MDEC's, so I just switched to it for everything. Null's sound is definitely better though -- the 1.2 version I mean.

Jonathan
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
513 Posts
>If you're talking about saving to a memory card, I haven't heard
>anything about it.
I've tried saving from within the game itself, but when I restart it informs me that it can't find any FF9 save data on the card. I've tried hitting F4 twice as some have suggested, but it hasn't changed anything. I suppose I should note that I'm running off of an ISO.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
513 Posts
Ooh, I got it to work. After starting the game from the beginning (rather than loading a save state) it works. Nevermind ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
513 Posts
>I have the same problem like cluthu too.
Are you also using Null2's plugin? My problem stemmed from confusing save states and the in-game saving option. If you attempt to save in-game after loading a save state, the save will fail (though I'm not certain why). Basically, for best results, I'd suggest starting from the beginning by removing any FF9 savestates, removing your memcards (so long as they don't contain saves for another game) and allowing ePSXe to recreate them. Afterwards, just save from within the game itself. Though there may be far less drastic ways to accomplish this result, it worked well for me.
 
1 - 20 of 22 Posts
Top