Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11,307 Posts
If you'd look around, we've discussed this plenty of times. The Eternal SPU is the best for anyone with a good computer. The Andy and Iori SPUs are also very good.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Originally posted by Wing Zero
I am new to use ePSXe, hope you guys help.
actually depends on what games u r playin on.... but the best is still eternal spu ...... iori andy are oso recommended

·
<font color="#FF0066"><b>Advanced Newbie</b></font
5,797 Posts
but if you want speed and sound quality by the same proportion, eternal is your election, I´m sure of that

·
Diehard 3Dfx Fanboy!
544 Posts
Of course, it would REALLY be helpful if you told us what kinda system you're running.

On one like mine (which has some good hardware, but SLOW processor), the music in games like FF9 sounds like it's coming out of an underpowered phonograph no matter what sound Plugin you use.

·
Registered
5,442 Posts
I havent found a single sound plugin that suits all games.Eternal one is good in few games,pete's direct sound in few others,even pete's midas in few,epsxe core spu is also quite good for many games.While there may be few games where andy's and iori's spu work.
The conclusion is ---"try all sound plugins and see which one is best for your game and computer". ;)

·
Registered
2,167 Posts
Actually the Eternal one is very good IF you set the sound buffer to 1 and disable the slow SPU updates fix.9 MGS subtitles are perfect this way) Seems the slow SPU fix needs twice the buffer and a buffer of 2 messes with timing. buffer of one has perfect timing just weird sound sometimes...

·
Registered
2,167 Posts
The SPU IRQ-Wait CPU check box... Uncheck it and set the Sound buffer to 1 then run Metal Gear solid...the subtitles are completely fixed. :)

·
5,797 Posts
Originally posted by dpence