Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I read on a post that detonators can speed up the emulation, and I would like to know what detonators are. Although it is perhaps a pretty basic question (since everyone seems to know what detonators are), please bear with me. I am new to PSX emulation.
Thank you

·
Registered
680 Posts
Detonator are all in one driver or many would call it unified driver architecture. Complete driver set only for use with nVidia based cards.
TNT series to the latest Geforce3. Different version (mostly the recent ones) can improve the speed of your nVidia cards. But it depends on individual experience, by experimenting each version with fav games or local hardware settings.

·
Registered
1,612 Posts
Well, I, use detonators to activate bombs to blow up things, but I suppose that has nothing to do with psx emulation..... unless you play Silent Bomber.

·
Registered
9,506 Posts
Ah Bomb Making 101. There's isn't a kid in my area who doesn't know how to make one using tractor fuel and fertilizier. ;)

·
Registered
551 Posts
is it really that Detonator drivers can speed up emulation? (such on ePSXe or VGS) cause I used that once and my Windows Media Player was messed up! I can't saw any movies full-screen! it will be halved when I pressed Alt+Enter...

·
Registered
26 Posts
You probably got a bad set then. Detonators are still betas after all, so some are a step backwards. Also, some detonators will not work with certain cards (most often tnt2s, but sometimes others). The best bet is to wait a couple days when one comes out, let the braver souls test it, and then base which on to use on if they end up in BSOD land :)

·
Registered
462 Posts