Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

I'm hardy trying to infect my girlfriend with Final Fantasy IX - at least she played over a hour on my PC when I've shown her the game.

Now I want to make it run on her PC, too. Unfortunately, there is only a poor ATIRage128 and a good ol' Voodoo I, which only crashes with Lewpy's.
Pete's Direct3D makes only strange effects, but hell, it's only a cheap ATI-card, I know!

Is Voodoo I not supported by Lewpy, or am I just configuring wrong?

Manx thanx in advance!:confused:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Just forgotten, it's a PentiumII-350 with 128MB on WIN98. Has been my older computer until I gave it to her!
 

·
Key To The Universe
Joined
·
2,712 Posts
What a gentle boyfriend!
Anyway, I think that Lewpy's plugin work with voodoo1 cards(don't know about the performance). Try lower resolutions, disabling Dynamic Cache and disabling Mask Bit.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,853 Posts
And just to double check.... what's the driver version? Older (read: really really VERY too old) Voodoo1 drivers do not support Glide3, and Lewpy's plugin requires Glide3, if I'm not mistaken.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
538 Posts
The easiest thing is to post the output of the COPY INFO button into a reply here. Try and use the CODE codes of the bulletin board system to make it more readable :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Hey Lewpy, I shall ask Pete to make such a nice button, too;)

So here we go:

Code:
Lewpy's Glide³ Plugin Configuration Information v1.33
    -----------------------------------------------------

Computer Information
  OS        : Microsoft Windows 98 (v4.10 Build 1998)
  DirectX   : DirectX 8 or better installed
  Processor : Intel Pentium II, 350Mhz (1 off) (00/0651)
              16kb L1-I, 16kb L1-D, 512kb L2 (on-chip)
  Memory    : 128Mb

Core Emulator
  ePSXe     : E:\EPSXE\EPSXE.EXE
            : 25/06/2001 20:31, 153088 bytes

*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*
| Type |         Name         | Version |       Date       |
*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*
| BIOS | scph7502.bin         |         | 17/07/2000 23:28 |
| CDR  | cdrPeteAspi.dll      |  1.6    | 15/07/2001 11:19 |
| GPU  | gpuLewGlide.dll      |  1.33   | 06/05/2001 17:47 |
| SPU  | spuNull2Mixer.dll    |  1.3    | 25/03/2001 23:34 |
*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*

*-----------------------------*---------------------*
|  ePSXe Configuration Item   |   Current Setting   |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| Sound Enabled               | Yes                 |
| CDDA Enabled                | Yes                 |
| XA Enabled                  | Yes                 |
| XA Read Enabled             | Yes                 |
| SPU IRQ Hack                | Yes                 |
| CDROM Drive Letter          | I                   |
| CDROM Accurate Timing       | No                  |
| Disable CDROM Status        | No                  |
| Disable CDROM RT Status     | No                  |
| MDEC Enabled                | No                  |
| MDEC Timing Enabled         | No                  |
| SIO IRQ Always Enabled      | Yes                 |
| Country                     | AutoDetect          |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*
I tried the Diamond Monster 3D and also the latest Voodoo reference driver for this noname Voodoo1-card. As far as I know, the original driver doesn't support Glide3, nor haven't I found any which do that.

Hope that helps a bit!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
538 Posts
Well, update to v1.35 of my plugin and try that :)
If it still crashes, paste the COPY INFO output from v1.35, as v1.33 had a bug which clipped the output short :(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,208 Posts
Huh? FF9 is working nearly perfectly on my Rage128. Try using Pete's OGL if Lewpy's ones shouldn't work. It works for me without any glitches (except the swirls before the battles:eek:)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Hi Lewpy!

It's me again;)

I tried your 1.53 plugin know, and the same problems occure. So here is the new info:

Code:
    Lewpy's Glide³ Plugin Configuration Information v1.35
    -----------------------------------------------------

Computer Information
  OS        : Microsoft Windows 98 (v4.10 Build 1998)
  DirectX   : DirectX 8.0 installed
  Processor : Intel Pentium II, 350Mhz (1 off) (00/0651)
              16kb L1-I, 16kb L1-D, 512kb L2 (on-chip)
  Memory    : 128Mb

Core Emulator
  ePSXe     : E:\EPSXE\EPSXE.EXE
            : 25/06/2001 20:31, 153088 bytes

*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*
| Type |         Name         | Version |       Date       |
*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*
| BIOS | scph7502.bin         |         | 17/07/2000 23:28 |
| CDR  | cdrPeteAspi.dll      |  1.6    | 15/07/2001 11:19 |
| GPU  | gpuLewGlide.dll      |  1.35   | 01/08/2001 20:05 |
| SPU  | spuNull2Mixer.dll    |  1.3    | 25/03/2001 23:34 |
*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*

*-----------------------------*---------------------*
|  ePSXe Configuration Item   |   Current Setting   |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| Sound Enabled               | Yes                 |
| CDDA Enabled                | Yes                 |
| XA Enabled                  | Yes                 |
| XA Read Enabled             | Yes                 |
| SPU IRQ Hack                | No                  |
| CDROM Drive Letter          | I                   |
| CDROM Accurate Timing       | Yes                 |
| Disable CDROM Status        | No                  |
| Disable CDROM RT Status     | No                  |
| MDEC Enabled                | No                  |
| MDEC Timing Enabled         | Yes                 |
| SIO IRQ Always Enabled      | No                  |
| Country                     | AutoDetect          |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*

Glide³
  Board     : Voodoo Graphics
  Version   : 3.04.00.0455
  File      : C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\glide3x.dll
            : 29/04/1999 15:47, 244224 bytes

*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| Plugin Configuration Item   |   Current Setting   |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| Active Configuration        | 1                   |
| Active 3dfx Card            | 1                   |
| Enable HotKeys              | No                  |
| Resolution                  | 640x400             |
| Refresh Rate                | 85Hz                |
| Emulate MASK Bit            | No                  |
| Dynamic Texture Caching     | Yes                 |
| Custom FrameCap             | 50Hz                |
| On-Screen Display           | Off                 |
| Frame Skip                  | Enabled             |
| FrameRate Limit             | Auto                |
| System Type                 | PAL                 |
| FrameCap Method             | New                 |
| Draw Method                 | Bright              |
| Alpha Blending Mode         | Advanced            |
| Bilinear Filtering          | Disabled            |
| Alpha Testing               | Normal              |
| FrameBuffer Access          | Write               |
| Off-Screen Drawing          | Basic               |
| Polygon Mode                | Textured            |
| Texture Windows             | Enabled             |
| VSync                       | Enabled             |
| Banshee Code                | Disabled            |
| MDEC Format                 | Texture             |
| Experimental Flipping       | Off                 |
| Experimental Screen Sizing  | Off                 |
| FrontBuffer Rendering Fix   | Off                 |
| FF7 TextureWindow Fix       | Off                 |
| DMAChain Fix                | Long                |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*
Any idea?

Many thanx in advance!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
538 Posts
I can spot something straight away

Code:
| Alpha Blending Mode         | Advanced            |
The Voodoo Graphics card is not capable of doing "Advanced" alpha-blending modes, so you need to set that to "Basic". Set it to "Disabled" if you ever have any problems in games where things are transparent when they shouldn't be.
My plugin should not allow you to select that, but obviously something is going wrong :( I shall check it out.
You may want to try a "normal" resolution, such as 640x480 rather than 640x400. It shouldn't make a difference, since my plugin asks the Glide driver what resolutions the card actually supports, but you never know.
You seem to have the latest Glide³ driver for the Voodoo Graphics that I can find, so that is good :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
Hi Lewpy!

The Alpha Blending Mode did the trick - I switched it to Basic and everything worked fine except the FF9-windows (but I accidently turned the FF7 window fix on, guess that'll be the problem).
Even the battle starts fast and doesn't slow down at the moment like I have with Pete's Open GL-Plugins.

But, damned, the second time I tried to start your plugin, now with FF7 window fix off, it just crashed again and again. I switched it back, but still it won't work.
Well, I'll try again later, for now we have other things to do. (No, only playing Icewind Dale;) )

Anyway, many thanx for helping!

Spektakulum
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
Well, I tried and tried and tried... But it 'll only crash and doesn't start anymore. Works fine with Pete's plugin, but Voodoo & Lewpy's worked much more smoothly, especially when enterin battle mode!
Any ideas left, Lewpy?
Still many thanx in advance!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
538 Posts
Not many ideas left, I'm afraid :(

You could try deleting all the registry entries for my plugin, and re-configure from scratch.
The settings are located in the HKEY_CURRENT_USER hive, under Software\Vision Thing\PSEmu Pro\GPU\LewGlide. Delete the LewGlide key, and all the settings will be erased.

PLEASE BE VERY CAREFUL EDITING YOUR REGISTRY!!! I have to say that :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
I'm using the voodoo 5 5500 agp card and i have always had the advanced alpha blending selected, i didn't realize that the voodoo cards do not support that as I do not have any problems with crashing at all, actually it runs very well. The only thing that caused problems for me was making sure I didn't have the Start ePSXe GUI checkbox selected while using the lewpy's plugin, when selected it would sometimes load the game, sometimes not but always cash somewhere.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
53 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
Hehe, just wondering. Why don't you give her a new vid card?
Well, in three months it's christmas time, isnt't it?;)
As soon as we get the first multiplayer-roleplay-game that doesn't work smoothly on an ATI-card, I'll see what I can do!:)
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top