Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
strange school network problem

i just installed windows 7 rtm on my computer, but it won't connect to the internet.

i connect to the school network with a cable. i had the rc before and it worked just fine, but now it doesn't work. i have a laptop with the rtm and that works just fine.

whats strange is that, the computer tries to use a 192.168.0.* address while on my laptop where it works, it uses a 158.38.88.* address, i tried setting my computer up with a static address but my school network doesn't seem to support that.

besides it also seems to use different dhcp adresses

one has has the 192..... address
while the other has the 158.... address

does anyone have any idea what the problem is and how to fix it?

as a temporary solution i have connected the cable to my laptop and made an ad-hoc network
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
23,263 Posts
its impossible for a network, not to support a static connection.

Your computer is failing to register an address with the schools DHCP service
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well i didn't get it to work.

is there someway to force it to register an address with the schools DHCP service?
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
23,263 Posts
They are probably blocking your mac address.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
wouldn't the mac address be the same no matter what os i use?

the rc worked fine, and internet still works on windows xp on the same pc.

hmm i'll look more into it.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
23,263 Posts
Not necessarily, i've known drivers to fubar up a mac address......

Install the latest Vista x64 drivers for the device.?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,341 Posts
If it was failing to obtain an address via DHCP, it should be getting an APIPA address (169.254.x.x).

What happens when you clone your laptop's MAC address onto the desktop (after removing the laptop from the network)? You could try running Wireshark on both PCs during the DHCP process and see what turns up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 · (Edited)
it seems there was something wrong with the school network, in the end none of my pcs could get an internet connection and i couldn't get net access until now.

How is your school connection delivered to you and did you add any of your own network devices?
the connection is delivered with a normal cable outlet, with a lan cable from the outlet to my computer,
i'm only connecting my computer directly, no other network devices.

edit:
spoke too soon, it seems to work randomly, and now just on xp.

heres the ipconfigs for when it works
on win xp
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : stud-bolig.himolde.no
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 158.38.88.74
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.254.0
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0::9:21d:60ff:fe31:4f6%1
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:9e26:5844:9:b189:b648:807:451b
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:9e26:5844:9:21d:60ff:fe31:4f6
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::21d:60ff:fe31:4f6%10
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 158.38.88.1
fe80::51f2:7926:8431:37f3%10

and when it's not
on win 7
Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : mshome.net
IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2002:9e26:5844:9:e8e8:1ac4:6252:3d89
Site-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fec0::9:e8e8:1ac4:6252:3d89%1
Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2002:9e26:5844:9:251f:a889:7d58:6ca
Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::e8e8:1ac4:6252:3d89%13
IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.245
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::51f2:7926:8431:37f3%13
192.168.0.1

this time i'll just try to not restart the pc or the connection.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
23,263 Posts
windows 7 is not running on the same subnet for some reason,
im actually sure thats a Driver issue. download and install the latest vista drivers with xp, and then install them in windows 7
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
it seems like there is some sort of conflict on the network or something.

it also happens in xp, and i have to repair the connection a couple of times before it works.

whatever it is i hope it get fixed, because this is getting irritating.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
246 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 · (Edited)
yeah sounds like it.

is there some way to force my computer to get the ip from the schools network?

Edit:
email said:
Veldig mange av våre beboere har rapportert at de er utestengt fra internett
i løpet av helga. Vi har ikke stengt av og heller ikke it-senteret. I samråd
med it-senteret har vi funnet ut følgende: Problemene skyldes sannsynligvis
at en eller flere beboere har koblet trådløs ruter til nettet. Noen av de
trådløse ruterne er koblet feil. Nettverkskabelen fra datapunktet i veggen
skal settes i WAN porten, ikke LAN porten. Dere som har koblet opp rutere.
Vennligst kontroller at dere har gjort dette korrekt.
mvh
boligavdelinga
just got an email from the ones that manage the net, they say that many people have had issues connecting to the net, and that it probably is someone who has connected a router wrong and put the cable from the wall outlet to the LAN port in the router instead of connecting it to the WAN port thus causing these problems.
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top