Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found an INTERESTING problem with VS and ePSXe - not only for THAT game, but every game that uses ADPCM sounds for ingame-musics.

WARNING: This is one LONG thread, sorry ;)

At first - in SHORT:
The glitch is, that the in-game music (PAL Version at 50 Frames) runs ---7 FRAMES--- SLOWER than the GFX.

sounds weird?

LONGER EXPLANATION:
When playing with 50 Frames in PAL, the sound plays at 43 FRAMES. I use Pete´s D3D/Soft/OGL GPU and Null2´s sound plugin.
When setting the framerate to 57 Frames (with Pete´s GPUs)
I get PERFECT sound timing, but when looking at the playtime counter in the menu - time runs much faster - 7 Frames faster.
So you CAN play the game, but well.. SOMEHOW it´s just not the same.

This "glitch" or "bug" (?) occurs with EVERY Sound Plugin out there at the current time. As said above, I can´t test any other Gfx Plugin.

As I am a hobby musician and quite a Vagrant Story-fan I KNOW every little detail in Vagrant Story´s sound. And I am DEFINITELY not the only one, who recognizes this.

But noone every mentioned a problem like this, so I think my experiences could really help spu and gpu coders.

I ONLY use Pete´s Plugins, so I can´t say if the problem occurs on every system. Info from other people would help much!!

I think this glitch is very annoying.
I would say ok to every footstep-BEEP, but the music just sounds
awfull.

After trying EVERYTHING (nearly) to get this game working, I hope someone will fix the problem here, I think it might be very Interesting for Pete´s development, as he codes GPUs, as well as SPU´s.

NOTE:
It is my ALL TIME favourite. I try to emulate this since the day I bought it (2000, shortly after its release day). And Connectix VGS does quite a GREAT job in TIMING (Frameskipping/Music).
So what´s different with ePSXe, when trying to sync sound to gfx?? I really hope someone has a solution to this.