Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered Anime Hater
8,674 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to all this encoding videos and stuff. I have ~4GB of home videos which are in avi format and take up a lot of space. So I've decided to convert them into a format which will take up much less space without sacrificing on quality. However, the feedback on the net is mixed, many software producers say that absolutely no quality is sacrificed, while others say that some quality is. But which is correct (as I can hardly trust software manufacturers for all their claims). And moreover, which format is better, Xvid, or DivX? And what are the best codecs out there for converting videos?

Thanks in advance.

·
Super Moderator
13,064 Posts
Depends on how much of a tradeoof youre fine with.

ASP is more a reeditability choice than the best one (if for archiving of large collections, RMVB might actually be the better choice, as long as a reasonably non-low bitrate is used)

For ASP, Xvid is the obvious winner in about every area.

2 tools can be suggested for batch conversions for archival purposes (these 2 perform compressability checks of their own so that you dont have to calculate those yourself):
As usual with largescale archiving, try and see which methods you prefer, obviously.

- AutoGK
http://www.autogk.me.uk/

- RealAnime (conversions to RMVB or AVC):
http://www.videohelp.com/tools/RealAnime

·
No sir, I don't like it.
5,479 Posts
Xvid provides more settings to play with as opposed to DivX and will get you better quality. (As long as you know what you are doing.)

AutoGK is a great program for both newbies and seasoned pro's (who aren't OCD about quality)

If you'd rather do it yourself, you can visit the forums over at Doom9.org. This is where I picked up a lot of knowledge concerning video encoding.

·
Registered Anime Hater
8,674 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)