Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Its hard to find help these days on the Dxbx project.
Mostly its because of free time, or that people do not have Delphi.

Therefore this question.. should Dxbx be trandfered to Lazarus ?
Lazarus is free and can be downloaded by everyone.

This makes the project complete open source, Delphi is wonderfull ide but in some way it makes it close source because its not a free compiler.

Let me know how you think about this.

·
Linux's worst nightmare..
1,510 Posts
would the project have to be renamed LXBX? :p

·
Registered
137 Posts
Hi All I just wanted to say I haven't tried Lazarus but I am just a beginner in java I believe that java is an easier programming language but I know dxbx wouldn't support java and the programming and files wouldn't support the emulator because you are using directx and opengl and other files as well maybe one day I will try lazarus and see if it is easier then java but I don't make promises that it will work or not work for me if it works I will keep you updated but this is all I am going to say for now!

·
Dolphin dev
11 Posts
To be honest, I think the lack of help on the project is less due to Delphi not being available for free, but rather the choice of that programming language in the first place.
I mean, good luck finding any people with skills to write an emulator. Out of those, have fun finding those who care about Xbox emulation. OUT OF THOSE, pick one who would prefer Delphi over C/C++ or even C#... ;)

Not trying to flame Dxbx here or anything, but that's prolly just the way it is.

·
Registered
907 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)
Ok i decided to make the project multi programming language.
Lazarus / Delphi / C++ prehaps even C# and if some people want to give it a try for Java i dont mind.