Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As this is my first post, id like to say. i am a rookie, not a noob. i usually just read the fourms, not post on them. im also heavy into the psp dev and hombrew scene, but back on topic... ;)

here are my questions,
- does epsxe read any form of compression, or do i need to just feed it the ".bin" and ".img" ect.? having 20gigs of cd backup images really bugs me...

- is it alright to "run iso" if they are coming of a dvd with many games isos, and not the imgs or will that slow it down as much as running of a cd by itself?

- if there is no compression, what form of image is best, the bins, imgs or others?

- i know the ps2 can play psx games because it has an extra set of hardware, so does that mean ps2 emu's are unable to play psx games? like... backward compatable ps2 emus.

i know... all my question were related to my finding a way to simplify my clutter, if theres a better way tell me :thumb:

·
Premium Member
bsnes, ePSXe
21,982 Posts
1. you can use mooby's plugin to compress and read compressed ISO images
2. DVD drives are pretty much the same speed as CD rom drives, so it's like playing off the CD when you run an ISO off a DVD
3. all of them are the same, in that they hold the same data. you might want to do straight up ISO files as they are just one file :p personally i use bin/cue.
4. the PS2 has a "mini PS1" (you can think of it that way). PS2 emulators do not emulate this, they only emulate the PS2. therefore, PS2 emulators cannot play PSX games. and why would you want them to, when you have so many excellent PSX emulators....

·
Registered
332 Posts
say, hushy, mooby's plugie compresses and runs bz files fine, but the compression sucks compared to rar.
However mooby's plugie DOES seem to support rar files, but when I try to open one it says that it couldn't extract the image from the file.. Got any tips?

·
Premium Member
bsnes, ePSXe
21,982 Posts