Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
situation: downloaded epsxe a few days ago, eerything was working fine. i didnt play it for a day, and next time i open it, it doesnt work anymore. i click on "run isos" and nothing happens. obviously im new at this emu stuff. search for a solution but nothing happens. i decide to reinstall and it works again.

i had already saved 2 game states before reinstalling, and i wanted to be abe to load that (saved in computer not in ps memory card). before i deleted the original epsxe i had, i did the most logical thing for a newbie like me, i went to the "memcards" folder and i saw epsxe000.mcr and epsxe001.mcr. i kept those before deleting it. after reinstalling and placed those back where it was before and it looks exactly the same.

sucks though, it didnt seem to work. tried loading state and no go. what can i do or what should i have done?

any help is much appreciated, this is a pretty cool site.

· Registered MSX user
1,671 Posts
Welcome to Emuforums, joenoob!

Yes, this is a cool site and you should introduce yourself at open discussion.

Alright, back to your question. Memory card files (*.mcr) stores only your memory card saves. Save states are located in a different folder under your ePSXe folder (\sstates) and this folder you should backup, too.

For recovering your lost files, it's not sure if you can do anything, but try this: If you haven't empty your recycle bin, check if those files are still there and undelete them right away.

If your bin is empty, download a piece of software for undeleting files (you can find many with Googling, for example this one). Do a scan and if you can find those files (in good condition), restore them back to your \sstates-folder.

Good luck.

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·