Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Experenced But New User
866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, this is my first year in Java coding. I am taking AP Computer Science at my HighSchool. I have ripped apart a few Java programs I found to make something. The problem is that it my java applet will not get past a certain part in the code, when it tryes to capture the html of a website into a buffer. I did not write this code but I know it works because I it works outside of an applet. This goal of this applet is for people to type the URL of a video on google video and create HTML code to add the video to your own site. You can see this working here on my first ever website. Anyone experenced enuph with Java to help me? Here is the .java file.

Code:
import java.applet.*;
import java.awt.*;
import java.awt.event.*;
import java.net.*;
import java.io.*;

public class Google_GUI extends Applet
{

private TextField input;
    private TextArea output;

public void init()
    {
        // Construct the TextField, TextArea, and Button
        this.input = new TextField("http://", 50);
        this.output = new TextArea("Insert the URL of the google video you want HTML code to be generated for.", 4, 60);
        this.output.setEditable(false);
        Button button = new Button("Generate");

// add the stuff to the layout
        this.add(input);
        this.add(button);
        this.add(output);

// specify that action events sent by the
        // button or the input TextField should be handled 
        // by the same CapitalizerAction object
        GenerateHTML gen = new GenerateHTML();
        button.addActionListener(gen);
        this.input.addActionListener(gen);

// notice that ActionEvents produced by output are ignored.
    }

private class GenerateHTML implements ActionListener
    {
        public void actionPerformed (ActionEvent event)
        {
            output.setText("Working");
            String text;
            try
            {