Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

Ok all parts have arrived, I have put them together, everything is working nicely.
I have been playing some games on it, for example Fallout 3.
I have The Graphics set to ultra, with max resolution.
It was running perfectly up till i installed the patch..
It's not running slowly or anything, you can just see that it's not performing at it's maximum as it was before the patch..,

So I think it's about time I start Overclocking my PC.
So I have never done this before, so please tell me some devices for overclocking and how to safely do it.
(Devices perferable official)

I have the Asus P5Q-E
Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 3,16 GHZ
Ram Corsair 4GB
Video Card Twintech 9800GTX+ XT OC Heat Pipe Fan (it has 2 fans on it)
Arctic Cooler Freezer Pro 7

OK!
Please help!

·
The Master of Disguise
808 Posts
Why not just remove the patch that u installed?

Before thinking of OCing, download Real Temp to check ur temps and see if u are able to push that processor more.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Anyone else reccomend this application?

I don't seem to be finding an official site for it, so I'm kind of iffy about that...

If anyone has a better idea for example a product from NVIDIA or Intel or something that has an official site and is highly reccomended I would appreciate it.

thanks.

·
Your resident reaper...
6,031 Posts
Intel TAT, CoreTemp, Real Temp, Speedfan...they're all common programs used by enthusiasts. Just download from a known site ;)

·
Opensource-spice
1,503 Posts
Use coretemp, but don't run the actual game to benchmark until you're sure your core is stable; use a third-party benching tool like superpi or cputest and make sure your PC can take the strain with good temps.

·
Registered
102 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Ok Using Real Temp.

My Core Temps have come up

23 26

this is well after playing for 4 hours and having the computer on all day..