Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been interested in emulation since the early days of MAME and SNES emulators. I work as an embedded system developer and don't usually have much time to dedicate towards other interests. Due to the fact that the library of games for the PS2 is so extensive and that PC hardware has progressed to the point where perfect emulation on current highend hardware is theoretically possible (although maybe not practical) I began to investigate the progress of various emulation projects. I see (as you all know) that pcsx2 is quite far ahead of any others. I'm also very pleased this project is open source.

In the last few days I've played with .81, built/ran the CVS tree, made patches to skip movies for several games and looked through the source code to get a feel for how everything works. I am very encouraged by what I see. After doing some research into the EE and supporting hardware I'm even more encouraged! With all the componets MIPS core, VU0,VU1, DMAC, IPU, IOP, GS, etc the hardware is much more complex (and better engineered) than I had thought. The fact that these componets are all being emulated in tandem and actually showing some results is amazing. I am also very encouraged by the recompiler mode. It looks like SSE2 is being used to compensate for the lack of VUs.

Anyway...

Instead of annoying you with questions regarding your progress, I've looked at the code, change logs and forum posts. It seems speed is major concern which i'll admit is important. To me it seems the biggest issue is compatibilty (I'm aware many people pester you about this, thats not my intent).

After trying several games and create several patches my focus goes towards mpeg play back. Basic reasoning here is: