Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1,720 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm completely new to 5.1 surround-sound headphones so I don't really know what to do with them. Particularly in games- do I put the settings as "Headphones" or "5.1 Surround Sound Speakers", as a rule of thumb? Are there any other things I need to know about surround headphones?

·
Hackin 'n Slashin
28,630 Posts
You would set games to 5.1 Surround Sound Speakers, heaphones would just give you common Stereo.
You would also have to configure the drivers of your onboard or discrete sound card to output 5.1 sound though, or your headset itself if it has drivers.

·
Registered
5,977 Posts
Hey bobrocks, I'm going to hijack your thread for a second:

Are surround-sound headphones good? As-in, do they really sound like a decent surround sound system? Is there any that can easily hook up to a DVD player or gaming console? (With a long cable and optical audio jack preferably).

·
Registered
1,720 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
My $50 headset seems nice so far with the surround sound. Probably not as good as an actual high-quality $200 surround-sound speaker system as that would have good-sized and quality speakers for each channel/position, not to mention that they're further away from you and thus the changes in position are more noticeable. I can't think of a console that has a 3.5mm audio jack on it, so unless you got some kind of converter I can't imagine that working necessarily. It may be able to hook up to a DVD player but I'm not sure if it would be true surround-sound unless you hooked it up to a surround-sound system. I'll have to try it on a simple DVD player that has a headphone jack.

·
Registered
1,620 Posts