Next Generation Emulation banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This weekend I could help but think of the possibility of creating an emulator for n64 games for the Nintendo DS. One of the first things I thought of was if it is even possible for such an emulation. I know the DS is supposedly very similar to a n64 in terms of processing power, this leads me to believe that either the emulation would be simple or the DS won't have enough power to emulate the 64 and run games smoothly. Anyone have any opinions about this? Also, if it is feasable, I have no experience creating an emulator, so where would be a good place to start? I thought about maybe looking at an open source n64 emulator and going from there. The final, and perhaps most difficult part, would be to actually find a way to do development for the DS. I'm guessing I would need a DS SKD. Is it even possible to download one of these?

Thanks for your input...if it seems possible to create such an emulator, I would really like to give it a shot. Let me know what you think.

·
Administrator
8,200 Posts
99.99% not possible. GBA doesnt even have an SNES emu. We dont even have "perfect" N64 emulation on our PCs.i hardly see how anyone could accomplish this, especially if you have zero knowledge on how emulators work.

Id forget the idea of an N64 emulator for the DS. but if your still willing to learn how to make an emulator, head over to the Chip8 thread we have on the board. i doubt that just looking at the source code of an N64 emu will make you understand it

·
PS2 PAL[v9], PS3Slim PAL
5,370 Posts
Hmmm I think Nintendo's gonna make many little bit refreshed 'reeditions' of old N64 hits for their DS handheld, they are always doing it ;) so there's no need for n64 emu in my opinion of course ;)

·
AKA snkmad
4,030 Posts
I think he means snes for gba...

·
Registered
317 Posts