Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Heretic
2,771 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone. So some time last year I created a thread asking what people would think of a remake of FF7 in 2D. There was mixed reception, for some it wasn't their cup of tea at all, and for others it was exactly what they were after (if well executed). What I failed to mention in the thread was that I was gauging the reactions people would have for the project - as it was what I was undertaking. So I've been working diligently for about 6 months on replicating the FF7 menu in everyway possible. Its taken a lot of research into the exact mechanics of many features that previously weren't well documented at all. And for those wondering, this was done in Rm2k3.

In anycase I've reached the stage where I need a swarm of people to test the menu in order to iron out bugs resulting from insane combinations of things, which I could never hope to find by myself. Also looking for inconsistencies with the real FF7 menu, such as sound effects being in the wrong place, absent features, etc. The only thing that comes to mind that really differs is the config menu for obvious reasons.

Controls:

F4 Full Screen/Window Mode Toggle
F5 Large/Small Window Toggle
F12 Return to Title Screen
Cancel on Title Screen quits the game
Z, X, Shift, 1, 2, 3 are the only keys used in the menu. You should be able to figure out what kind of functions they're bound to and hopefully it will become intuitive after a bit.

Bugs Found Already:

-Item Menu: Can't sort by quantity
-Config Menu: MP3 support NYI
-PHS Menu: Can have an empty party, this is done on purpose (for now)
-No autoscroll aside from config menu. This is intentional, the menu does too much on-the-fly calculations to make autoscroll viable. However you can quick scroll with left/right arrows and 1/2 on all menus. I doubt you'll notice the lack of autoscrolling after a while.