Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Premium Member
21,977 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i have a little bit of an embarassing story...but i tried to recover from it, and i just cant. i swapped out every part of my computer and yet nothing works. let me explain. PLEASE READ THIS ENTIRE THREAD AND HELP ME.. IM PULLING MY GODDAMN HAIR OUT.

does anyone remember the "pr0nster"? if you read the "hushy/eternal11" thread you'd know. anyway, it's a computer i made with a 50 dollar Sempron 2200+ and ECS mobo combo, with a bunch of extra parts with help from eternal11 (i shall forthwith call him Chris, that's a little less weird for me).

so one day, he sold his RAM on ebay, but i still had it. before i gave it back, i put it in the pronster so i could use that computer for a bit. i turned it on and smelled something burning. what the hell....? OH ****!!!!!! i put one of the RAM sticks in HALF ****ING WAY :emb:

well we sold the RAM, no complaints yet, so i guess it's fine.

ok so back to teh story. i put MY samsung ram in there (from the 2500+, my main rig) and it didnt work. skipping ahead a bit, i've replaced EVERYTHING in the entire computer and it STILL wont work. oh, by the way, by "wont work" means that i turn it on....everything seems fine...but nothing shows up on my monitor.

here's what i changed:

hard drive, case, CD rom drive, case fans, HSF: SAME
TI4200 --> GF2mx
Sempron 2200+ ---> Tbred 2200+
Rosewill PSU ---> 300w Antec PSU
the Nanya RAM ---> Samsung DDR400
ECS (POS) mobo --> DFI AD77 Infinity

EVERYTHING has been changed. i've even tried it wtih CD ROM drive and HDD disconnected--- meaning that EVERY WORKING PART (well excluding casefans/HSF) have been replaced. NO GO. the monitor works; chris used it a couple days ago. the RAM works, it was in here. the GF2 worked last time i used it. the DFI mobo i got from a friend, and im pretty sure it works. the PSU worked last time i used it. the Tbred worked before i got it.