Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, sup yall...

I just got ME/XP Pro (Final)/2000 Pro on my pc. Everything was workin great, until...

After I shutdown from XP, and reload ME, the loading process haults, and locks up. From there I have to restart the computer, and re-load ME. It gives my the safe mode option screen, and I load it up. When I finally get into ME, it says my video card drivers are wrong (but they wern't before). I have to re-install my voodoo drivers, and then poof, ME works again.

But if I load up XP again, I get the dreded ME video driver error.

And 2000 Pro gets no problems at all. None

I hope you fellas can help me out, and tell me what my problem is...

Thanks, Swift Death...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,338 Posts
Excuse me for asking, but why the hell are you using 3 Windows OSes? Either get rid of 2K or XP. You don't need both, since they both have relatively the same core technologies.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,506 Posts
I'm going out on a limb and guessing Whenever you install the win xp driver it installs it on both ME and XP. Thus whenever you try to start in ME it crashes 'cos the drivers are incompatible with ME. So you install the win ME ones which again installs the dirver in both XP and ME and whoish another error (only this time 'cos XP is more advanced it can handle it).

Hence it must be the case that files required by the video drivers are being installed into the same place. Are you using the hacked 3dfx drivers? If so then this might be the reason as if memory serves they are adapted from the win9x ones, in which case they might install files into the same path.

Although I would have a clue of how to bypass this if it is the case. Maybe a registry hack or repartitioning?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
356 Posts
Wanna know an "impossiple" mission? Install Win2000 with NTFS
and try to remove it :) Every new version of Windows is harder & harder to erase... Luckily I managed to remove it and install my faitful 98 SE... Me kinda sucks...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,506 Posts
Easy. Heres how:

1. install partition magic 7 for win 2K
2. use pm7 to convert the file system to fat 32
3. set your bios to boot from cd (if not already set
4. Insert cd of os you wish to install eg win 98 se.
5 this should install the other os overwriting the mbr and thus disabling win 2k. Delete the winnt directory.

The only glitch is that the registry details are lost... but most apps can handle it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
356 Posts
The SE doesen't overwrite the boot sector! at least my chase...
IF you install SE and delete WINNT directory it will still require files
from C:\ boot.ini, nt????.??? and others... :( What was the parameter to format boot sectors ?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,506 Posts
Doh! missed a step :emb:

Type "fdisk /mbr" (no quotes) to overwrite the boot record with that from se. Then you can wipe the files safely

insert between 4 and 5 :D
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
356 Posts
Thanx! That really helped... Hope that guy didin't erase everything
before you posted that missing step :)

maybe now my comp doesen't complain about vnetbios.vxd...
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,338 Posts
Originally posted by Xenomorph
Wanna know an "impossiple" mission? Install Win2000 with NTFS
and try to remove it :) Every new version of Windows is harder & harder to erase... Luckily I managed to remove it and install my faitful 98 SE... Me kinda sucks...

The SE doesen't overwrite the boot sector! at least my chase...
IF you install SE and delete WINNT directory it will still require files
from C:\ boot.ini, nt????.??? and others... What was the parameter to format boot sectors ?
Heh, Windows XP is even more difficult. With Windows XP you have to have the entire OS in order for it to function. I wiped the WINNT directory of my ME/XP system once and it complained about files missing from the C:\WINNT\SYSTEM32 directory at boot-up(before the OS selection screen). With a ME/2000 system on FAT32 you can simply delete the WINNT directory to get rid of Windows 2000 but XP isn't that easy. I guess it's a one-shot deal. If you install it you have to stick with it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,506 Posts
Well if anyone did the fix is to insert the win 98 se disk again and then boot from the cd and select command prompt. then do the missing step.
Asd for xp... well I'll figure that out if and when I get it ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,716 Posts
I'm thinking of installing a different language OS (Window 98 Chinese) on my other computer (Window 95 English) so I can type chinese on at least one computer. Would the installation erase everything on my computer since it's a different language OS? (I know I sound pathetic, but please help!) :heh:
 

·
I'm in despair!
Joined
·
3,420 Posts
Originally posted by Gk1986
I'm thinking of installing a different language OS (Window 98 Chinese) on my other computer (Window 95 English) so I can type chinese on at least one computer. Would the installation erase everything on my computer since it's a different language OS? (I know I sound pathetic, but please help!) :heh:
Not sure if this is helpful but...

At least on the latest versions of Windows (2000/XP) you don't need to install a different version of OS to write in an asian language. The OS comes with some special keyboard layouts for this.

For instance, I have a standard US keyboard, and I can write japanese by using a layout called "Japanese Input System (MS-IME2000)". I'm pretty sure there are some similar layouts for chinese.

Oh, and about your question: It's unlikely that the new installation will erase erverything you have, althought it'll probably mess your registry settings, forcing you to re-install all programs.

[]s Badaro
 
1 - 14 of 14 Posts
Top