Next Generation Emulation banner

Generally...

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,005 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Thoughts and feelings on the matter. Do you like some or all of it? Do you hate it? Do you prefer modern art to other forms? Etc.

Edit: I mean art produced in recent times which is typically 3D or isn't usually in the form of a single drawing, painting or sculpture, and what's commonly also considered unusual or unconventional (or minimal!). While I appreciate most works of art (including some of these), I'm not an expert so I couldn't tell you for sure what the correct category is (if there is a single one). I recently went to what I considered a very poor exhibition so I wanted to get some other opinions on this art form. Here are some examples of the kinda thing I mean:

Some examples

·
Registered
1,005 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
Sure; I've used the wrong term - Minimalist art perhaps, or maybe surreal minimalism. I mean art produced in recent times which is typically 3D or isn't usually in the form of a single drawing, painting or sculpture, and what's commonly also considered unusual or unconventional (or minimal!). While I appreciate most works of art (including some of these), I'm not an expert so I couldn't tell you for sure what the correct category is (if there is a single one). I recently went to what I considered a very poor exhibition so I wanted to get some other opinions on this art form. Here are some examples of the kinda thing I mean:

Some examples

·
ಠ_ಠ
2,364 Posts
He did post some examples. Each letter of the word "Some examples" links to an image.

But in any case, I don't know **** about modern arts, so I can't give any opinions about them.

·
Hackin 'n Slashin
28,630 Posts
Gimme the old Masters like Rembrandt any day of the week.