Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,884 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im gonna try to install linux as my secondary OS but where do I get it? i heard there are different versions of it

·
Registered
1,884 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
yeah Im a total noob for linux that is why Im asking for help :D hehe
im checking those links right now
any more suggestions let me know please

checked those links already but which one is the easiest linux for a noobest linux new user like me?

·
Registered
181 Posts
Mandrake and fedora are both very good distro. I would recommend you use Fedora, it uses Gnome as its main desktop. And if your dont feel that Fedora is right for your, give mandrake a try. mandrake uses Kde as its main desktop. If u wanna try mandrake w/ out installing it, try there live cd to see if u like it.

·
War Games coder
1,926 Posts
Yeah, Mandrake and Fedora are probably your best bet. However, if you want to do any serious development, you probably won't touch Mandrake with a 10' stick - the environment is royally frelled. You have to give the exact path to each and every library you decide to use (instead of simply -lSDL, say), and the debugger... just plain and simply doesn't work (gets lost on "hello world"). However, the setup for the OS in general is really nice and easy - really hard for the user to screw themselves up.

·
Knowledge is the solution
7,168 Posts
Again, if you want a taste of linux you could get a live cd... personally I think knoppix is the best one around.

·
Registered
1,884 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
what you guys mean with the live cd?
I dont wanna be a developer :p
I just wanna be a regular linux user
damn... so much trouble for a linux :(

·
Canadian Spaceman
8,767 Posts
I use FC2. FC3 is soon to be released which also comes with XFCE which should be cool to try out.

Overall FC2 has given me the least grief when installing on an older system.

·
Registered
83 Posts
KillerShots said: