Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Okama Way!
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
A couple of months ago I installed linux fedora core 2 dual boot wit XP and it prevented me from accessing windows.

this was supposedly because of kernal 2.6. There was a fix for this which involved typing stuff to reset the partition table but I couldn't get this to work and ending up beaking my HDD and having to get a new one.

My question is. sinse this was a partion table problem would installing some linux distros on one HDD and windows on another HDD would that fix this or would both HDDs share the same table and cause the same problem.

also have there been newer versions of linux released which fix this problem from accouring

·
Registered
209 Posts
I studied this hard a while back. Each harddrive has its own mbr.

The partition table is stored in the master boot record which is sector 0 of every harddrive and it can contain only 4 partitions. The master boot record also contains the first piece of software your bios will load from disk once it's finished with all initializations. The sector is only 512 bytes big and the partition table is only 16bytes per partition totalling 16*4=64 bytes. If those 64 bytes are lost then all the information about where each partitions bootsector (not to be confused with the mbr) is located and their size is lost, luckily you should be able to recover it.

When you do fixmbr and such only the bootcode of the mbr is rewritten, not the partition table. There are programs that will scan your entire disk for each partitions bootsectors which hopefully will be able to rebuild the partition table. You can find here:
http://www.geocities.com/thestarman3/testdisk.html

good luck ;)

·
Okama Way!
352 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I didn't fully understand that