Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Drowning in a red state.
9,083 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
GPU:

PNY XLR8 9800 GT EE 512MB PCI-Express 2.0 DVI + DVI + HDTV/SDTV Graphics Card VCG98GT5EEXEB

Motherboards:
Intel DG41RQ Motherboard CPU Bundle - Intel Core 2 Duo E7400 2.80GHz Retail Processor

PSU:
L & C Model: Lc-B540 E
+5V & + 3.3V COMBINED LOAD 230W
+5V & + 3.3V & 12V COMBINED LOAD 422W
Total output is 450W max

Could someone explain to me how much other required compenents would weigh on the psu? I'm a complete noob at building pcs and would like someone to explain if this combo is gonna work.

EDITED COMPONENTS.

·
No sir, I don't like it.
5,571 Posts
Are they Compatible?: Yes

Is this PSU enough?: I wouldn't bet on it

PSU:
L & C Model: Lc-B540 E
+5V & + 3.3V COMBINED LOAD 230W
+5V & + 3.3V & 12V COMBINED LOAD 422W
Total output is 450W max

Could someone explain to me how much other required compenents would weigh on the psu? I'm a complete noob at building pcs and would like someone to explain if this combo is gonna work.
There's no way to tell without listing what other components you are using. You should always look at your PSU's individual voltage rails in terms of amperage, not wattage. From the figures above, I can deduce the amperage of your 12V (most important rail):

422W - 230W = 192W / 12V = 16A on the 12V rail

Your CPU, GPU, HDD(s), and optical drive(s) all pull current from the 12V rail. The CPU and GPU together pull the greatest amount of current. You should also list which CPU you are planning to use. Also, why a 9500GT? I know they're cheap, but I think you should go no lower than a 9600GT.

Finally, you should use newb, not noob, unless you plan on making this a Gameman-style thread. :p

·
Drowning in a red state.
9,083 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
If I understood more than half of what you just said then I would just decide myself :(
Question: Will a Pci express x16 2.0 carrd be compatible with a pcie x16?