Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
My thoughts remain hidden
518 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am currently in my final year of a BSc Computer Science degree and would like to create a game as my FYP. However, im just not sure about what to make. Does anyone have any ideas of useful or original game ideas I could probably implement that could get a good mark?

The coding will be C# using XNA Game Studio 3.1.

·
Here... take my hand
637 Posts
Zelda game, nothing else but Zelda
Naw, honestly I would avoid breaching copyrights as this FYP can be placed in a resume/CV... I would take this opportunity to make something completely original so that you can use it as credentials later on too...

What you make depends on how much time and how ambitious you are... I guess you could always make a generic version of Zelda... but I would put a lot of time into it...

Personally, I would create something similar to the Subtarrania game for the Sega Genesis/Master System... The game is really cool and the style is not very common... The bits of advice though: implement multiple difficulty settings so that all users can enjoy the game - and have a built in cheats system for people like me who like to experiment with strange settings...

·
Registered
75 Posts
... The bits of advice though: implement multiple difficulty settings so that all users can enjoy the game - and have a built in cheats system for people like me who like to experiment with strange settings...
Multiple endings are better than multiple difficulty if Khameleon wanted to choose between the two in my opinion. But then if you put the two on your project then that would be impressive.

·
Registered
2,166 Posts
Out of interest any vauge idea of the type of game you have to make, length and how serious, im meaning on the manlyness front, it has to be.

·
Hackin 'n Slashin
28,630 Posts
I would go for either a Racing game or a 2D Sidescrolling Platformer but with fancy effects.

·
518 Posts