Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Pink Poney
727 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I want to start loading up my ipod touch with anime, but I need a way to convert the .mkv and .avi files to h.264. I've already done some googling on this, and it seems like a common solution is to use quicktime pro to export to the correct video format, but I've also been reading A LOT of negative reviews for quicktime pro.

What options are there for converting video formats? I think Nero does this? I'm completely new to video encoding/conversion, so I have absolutely no familiarity with well known programs, methods, etc. I'm not opposed to spending money on the program, just as long as it's a good investment;).

·
No sir, I don't like it.
5,477 Posts
Quicktime Pro is garbage, pure and simple. It also doesn't handle the .mkv video container format.

Nero 9 certainly works. I believe a trial version is available on their website. Just make sure to use version 9 because older versions don't handle .mkv.

You can also try Xvid4PSP and RipBot264. I can't remember if they can handle .mkv though. :???:

·
Pink Poney
727 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
excellent, thanks for the advice. seems a bit pricey for what i want to do, but there's no doubt that i'll be using nero 9 as long as i want to continue putting video on my ipod. maybe i'll find more interesting ways to take advantage of the software in the future.

·
No sir, I don't like it.
5,477 Posts
Nero occasionally runs specials where you can snag a copy rather cheaply. I picked up my copy for $30USD. Keep your eyes peeled around holidays. ;)

·
Registered
85 Posts
h.264 is a codec, not a format. If you've got anime in MKV format, it's almost definitely encoded in h.264. As I recall, iPods use MP4 format for video, both SUPER and MediaCoder can help you with that for free. Correct me if I'm wrong about the format that iPods use, though.