Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
General of Tangerines
3,934 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new with Red Hat Linux so it's trial and error with this OS system.

How do I install a program in Linux?

I was able to download firefox and it ended with a gz format.

I have extracted the file and how do I install this program?

Do I use RPM?

·
B( o Y o )BS!
895 Posts
If it's a .tar.gz file, you can decompres it using:
$ tar -xzvf file.tar.gz

But being a big program like firefox, you should try to get a rpm of it... also, reading manuals helps :p

IIRC, you can isntall a .RPM file using:
$ rpm -i file.rpm
you may need root privileges to install (su root//root console).

and the first things you should do when you don't know how to do something:

$ program --help | less
(up/down to scroll, q to quit :p)

$ man program

·
Just visiting ^_^
8,299 Posts
but isn't it that you cannot just install any program unless its has linux compatibility???

·
Registered
9,504 Posts
if you wanna install firefox, all the major firefox builds have a i686-linux-gtk2+xft-installer.tar.gz version. with that all you have to do is extract it into a directory and run ./firefox-installer....

not too many linux programs have a comfy installer like this. Mostly your stuck with either a precompiled bin archive (which most of the time doesn't work) or a source archive. The standard for source building is usually this:

./configure
make
make install

but make sure you read the readmes for any extra commands you may need to run, and to check for the dependencies.

Also choosing a OS with a constantly updated software repository can save the hassle of even doing this...but RPM files are limited to what is already created.

·
Canadian Spaceman
8,767 Posts
Where in hell do you install programs oO I tried to install firefox to my home dir and it wouldnt save any of my settings. :\

·
Registered
9,504 Posts
Reichfuher said: