Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i'm new to playing with emulators and within the past few weeks i have goten two diferent ps1's a superniteno to work purfictly and have only been having torble on pcsx2. I got to run games but they stay at about 6fps and have tried all sorts of speed hack graphics plugins and even sound plugins.
I would like it if some one could help me:(

pentium 4 3.06GHz
1Gb ram no vidio card
new computer

·
Registered
52 Posts
=P you can stick some phase change cooling and or LN2 on that p4 and push it up to 5 ghz, (i've seen it done). And it still will not help you play these games at a normal speed.

I am sorry to say that Dax and Aretak are correct. You will need a dual core at 2.4ghz~ to play even the games pcsx2 will emulate perfectly.

AMD will push emulation just as well as Intel if you know what you're doing, and this is an OLD OLD OLD debate, so i'll keep my opinions to myself.

However- AMD or Intel whichever route you decide to go, a dual core processor is a must (dont go quad core unless its I7 or phenom 2, because its a waste of money at this point. the I7 and Phenom 2 architecture is new and much more capable of handling intensive applications than the older C2d/q and Phenom/Athlon x2 chips)

Anything 2.5ghz+ will overclock to 3ghz with decent cooling. (actually anything 2.5ghz+ that isnt a complete turd will overclock to 3.4ghz or more, you just have to know what you're doing.)

If you need some upgrade advice send me a private message by clicking on my name.
I dont want to start a AMD VS Intel war because we all know Cyrix won that battle long long ago >.>

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 · (Edited)
i will take what you have said twords my next computer.
i got this compter as a bday gift from my parents, so i cant argue with what i have since i'm only 16 years old.i just wish i had the money to get the best that the world has to offer