Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Seeing as how this is a forum on emulation (specifically Gameboy Advance), I was hoping someone here could help me out, or at least try to. Google has lead me to about every page that COULD help me, but nobody's ever really gone into any depth on this matter.
I've been wanting to extract/rip sounds from a GBA rom so I can create a soundfont, but everything I've found hasn't really given me enough details for me to know what I'm supposed to be doing. I've read things about recording .wavs with Visualboy Advance and some stuff about using Sappy, but I've never been given a step-by-step that would help me accomplish my goal. I'm fairly new to the insides of a rom, but I'm willing to try what I can. I've seen that it's possible to do what I'm wanting to, but nobody has ever posted a tutorial or anything on how it's done.
I hope someone here could help me out, and I know I'm not the only one who'd be thankful if a decent answer is given.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Which game was that?
Here ripping works without errors. Ill take no manual ripping or optimizing into minigsfs took place ?
The game was #2157 Shonen Jump's One Piece (US Release). Saptapper created 166 minigsf files and a gsflib file. I tried playing the minigsf's with Winamp (w/ Highly Advanced plugin) but I got nothing.

·
Premium Member
13,072 Posts
After you optimize them, they should run fine.

Get gsfopt (from caithsith2's site), put it in the folder where the extracted gsfs are, then run the optimize.bat command in the folder where sappy ran from.

The process will take a while as it optimizes each track one by one. After a few tracks is done, you can check them early in winamp and see if they play as they should (process rechecked here, it works without fail).

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
After you optimize them, they should run fine.