Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Scourge of the Seven Seas
Joined
·
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright. I wouldn't ask unless I searched all over for the answer, so here goes: How do ya get the swirly's to work in Lewpy's Glide? My rig is in my profile.

Lewpy's Glide³ Plugin Configuration Information v1.35
-----------------------------------------------------

Computer Information
OS : Microsoft Windows XP Professional (v5.1 Build 2600)
DirectX : DirectX 8.1 installed
Processor : AMD AMD Athlon(tm) Processor, 950Mhz (1 off) (00/0622)
64kb L1-I, 64kb L1-D, 512kb L2 (on-chip)
Memory : 512Mb

Core Emulator
ePSXe : C:\PROGRAM FILES\EPSXE\EPSXE.EXE
: 25/06/2001 20:31, 153088 bytes

*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*
| Type | Name | Version | Date |
*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*
| BIOS | SCPH1001.BIN | | 11/07/1997 05:38 |
| CDR | W2KCDRCORE | 0.0 | Plugin Not Found |
| GPU | gpuLewGlide.dll | 1.35 | 01/08/2001 20:05 |
| SPU | spuEternal.dll | 1.10 | 09/11/2001 03:33 |
*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*

*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| ePSXe Configuration Item | Current Setting |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| Sound Enabled | Yes |
| CDDA Enabled | Yes |
| XA Enabled | Yes |
| XA Read Enabled | Yes |
| SPU IRQ Hack | No |
| CDROM Drive Letter | First Available |
| CDROM Accurate Timing | No |
| Disable CDROM Status | No |
| Country | AutoDetect |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*

Glide³
Board : Voodoo5 (tm)
Version : 3.10.00.0674
File : C:\WINDOWS\System32\glide3x.dll
: 22/10/2001 01:34, 348160 bytes

*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| Plugin Configuration Item | Current Setting |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| Active Configuration | 2 |
| Active 3dfx Card | 1 |
| Enable HotKeys | No |
| Resolution | 640x480 |
| Refresh Rate | 100Hz |
| Emulate MASK Bit | Yes |
| Dynamic Texture Caching | Yes |
| Custom FrameCap | 60Hz |
| On-Screen Display | Off |
| Frame Skip | Disabled |
| FrameRate Limit | Full-Rate |
| System Type | NTSC |
| FrameCap Method | New |
| Draw Method | MultiPass |
| Alpha Blending Mode | Advanced |
| Bilinear Filtering | Enabled w/o Sprites |
| Alpha Testing | Aggressive |
| FrameBuffer Access | Read/Write |
| Off-Screen Drawing | Full |
| Polygon Mode | Textured |
| Texture Windows | Enabled |
| VSync | Disabled |
| Banshee Code | Disabled |
| MDEC Format | Texture |
| Experimental Flipping | On |
| Experimental Screen Sizing | Off |
| FrontBuffer Rendering Fix | Off |
| FF7 TextureWindow Fix | On |
| DMAChain Fix | Long |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*

Thanks in advance!! ;)
 

·
Scourge of the Seven Seas
Joined
·
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Of course. That's the first place the search found. I tried the settings and nada . . . I know there was something somewhere, but the search doesn't go that far back anymore . . . :(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
270 Posts
oh ya... i think if u wanna c the swirl, u have to disable the filter.... me not sure tho.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,853 Posts
Originally posted by Asfaloth
Anyone know how to get swirlies in Pete's OGL? The settings I use for FF9 don't produce 'em... thanks ;)
Here are my own findings for the swirls.

For Win98: use Det 12.90, set buffer flipping mode to block transfer. Pete's OGL: offscreen drawing 2 or 3, Framebuffer textures option 2 (Gfx card buffer), FSAA mode can be adjusted to your taste. I haven't tried lower detonator drivers, but higher versions either gets rid of the swirly effects altogether, or FSAA is unusable (I get some weird holes in the background).

For Win2k: essentially the same settings, but FSAA has to be disabled.

Weird, yes, but it works.... however, I can't get the Chrono Cross battle transition effect to work, no matter what settings I use.... well,there's always the softGPU... ;)
 

·
Scourge of the Seven Seas
Joined
·
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
As soon as I get the GeForce 3 ('bout 2-3 weeks), I'll follow this advice. But please don't let this go off-GPU :heh:. :cry: (I'm a whiner)
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,586 Posts
Hey efrainman.. Lewpy's glide pluggin can do the swirls with the FF9 settings that I posted in that other linked thread.. But it only works while wandering the world map.. In towns and caves, it doesn't.. Kinda weird.. Maybe lewpy can look into it.. Oh, and one more thing.. After numerous testing, The battle swirls work on the worldmap only 60-80 percent of the time with lewpys glide pluggin.. I think the next version of lewpys glide pluggin could remedy the situation since he is currently trying to fix the annoying "text dont' show" bug in FF tactics.. Which in turn may fix the "sometimes swirl effects show in the world map" bug in FF7.. :)
 

·
(>^_^)> *KIRBY*
Joined
·
2,612 Posts
i get swirls in ff9 with lewpy :) ill post my settings 2morrow itz to late and im to lazy rite now :D
 

·
Scourge of the Seven Seas
Joined
·
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #11 (Edited)
Just so you ya know, I tried disabling FSAA, Bilinear Filtering and Alpha Blending to no avail. I read on ePSXe Fanatics that it worked, but they didn't say how . . . :( I hope Lewpy comes around here (no offense ;)).

BTW, I get full swirls in FF9 all the time using the above settings (minus FF7 fix), with FBA at read, Off-SD at Extra+FBR or Full and Emulate MASK bit checked :).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,812 Posts
Originally posted by kairi00


Here are my own findings for the swirls.

For Win98: use Det 12.90, set buffer flipping mode to block transfer. Pete's OGL: offscreen drawing 2 or 3, Framebuffer textures option 2 (Gfx card buffer), FSAA mode can be adjusted to your taste. I haven't tried lower detonator drivers, but higher versions either gets rid of the swirly effects altogether, or FSAA is unusable (I get some weird holes in the background).

For Win2k: essentially the same settings, but FSAA has to be disabled.

Weird, yes, but it works.... however, I can't get the Chrono Cross battle transition effect to work, no matter what settings I use.... well,there's always the softGPU... ;)
Thanks for the help! New question: during battles I get this weird flickering at the top and bottom of the screen. I've tried messing with OSD, no luck. Again, OGL 1.54 and GeForce 2 / 22.50 Det4. Any suggestions?

P.S. Nice thread ;)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
11,307 Posts
> Thanks for the help! New question: during battles I get this weird flickering at the top and bottom of the screen. I've tried messing with OSD, no luck. Again, OGL 1.54 and GeForce 2 / 22.50 Det4. Any suggestions?

As I've said before, simply use Pete's D3D plugin instead to fix the flickering problem.
 

·
Scourge of the Seven Seas
Joined
·
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
What I like about FF7 is that I'm running full speed with everything on, basically. Not too much to handle in this game, is there? ;) And yet, no swirls? Must have swirls . . . :cry: :sad: :help: :(
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
188 Posts
How far we've come in PSX emulation huh?

*drivels like an old man*

"Back in my day we had to play battles with half the polygons missin, and no textures, and sometimes just blank screens with bad sound effects! now these youngstas are complainin about battle transitions... pah, things aint like they usetabe"
 

·
Scourge of the Seven Seas
Joined
·
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Originally posted by Whoever
How far we've come in PSX emulation huh?

*drivels like an old man*

"Back in my day we had to play battles with half the polygons missin, and no textures, and sometimes just blank screens with bad sound effects! now these youngstas are complainin about battle transitions... pah, things aint like they usetabe"
:fingers:

"When I was your age, we didn't have video games, beds or even FOOD! All we 'ad was DIRT. We played with dirt, slept on dirt, ate dirt. 'Cause God made dirt and dirt don't hurt!"

I want my swirlies!! :cry: BTW, Pete's is slow on my comp AND no swirlies for me :cry:.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,812 Posts
OK, another thing I found. Pete's D3D is WAY slower than OGL on my PC.

Hey Efrain, here's an idea. When you get in a battle, take some acid and tilt your head 90 degrees. It should produce about the same effect. :D
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top