Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'm new to EPSXe and I just got everything working with FF9. There is just one annoyance that occurs, everytime a battle starts, the music slows down for a few seconds. Is there any way around this or is it cuz my computer is too slow??
I have a P3 500Mhz, 256MB RAM, GEforce2 MX 32MB

Here is my info:

Plugin: Pete's D3D Driver 1.1.53
Author: Pete Bernert
GFX card: NVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX 400

Resolution/Color:
- 1024x768 Fullscreen - [16 Bit]

Textures:
- R8G8A8A8
- Filtering: 4
- Caching: 2

Framerate:
- FPS limit: on
- Frame skipping: off
- FPS limit: Auto

Compatibility:
- Offscreen drawing: 3
- Framebuffer texture: 0
- Alpha multipass: on
- Mask bit: off
- Advanced blending: none

Misc:
- Scanlines: on [200]
- Unfiltered FB: off
- Dithering: off
- Full vram: off
- Game fixes: off [00000000]

·
&-)---|--<
8,586 Posts
Well it could be slowing down because its trying to load the fight from the cd.. Or the framebuffer effects are slowing it down... Try running from an iso and set framebuffer to black.. There is suppose to be some swirly effects that happen when a battle loads.. These swirly effects slow the game down if you don't have a high end computer.. Setting it to black ensures that the effects don't show and hence no slowdown.. Playing the game off an iso should speed the loading of the fight scenes since it is loading the game off your harddrive and not the cd.. Your harddrive is a lot faster than your cd rom drive..

FYI.. I use lewpys glide pluggin with my voodoo 5 5500 agp and get swirls at full speed.. No slowdown what so ever.. Plus I am running the game off the cd..

·
Scourge of the Seven Seas
2,412 Posts