Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Scourge of the Seven Seas
Joined
·
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I get full fps on those games and a bunch of others, but on Final Fantasy Tactics I consistently lose 5-10fps for some reason. I've fiddled around with the settings and tried Pete's D3D too (50-55fps) but nothing. Plus, Lewpy's performs an illegal operation on GPU init more often that not. What's going on here?! Running off ISO, my stats are in my profile, here are my settings:

Lewpy's Glide³ Plugin Configuration Information v1.35
-----------------------------------------------------

Computer Information
OS : Microsoft Windows 98 SE (v4.10 Build 2222)
DirectX : DirectX 8.0a installed
Processor : AMD AMD Athlon(tm) Processor, 948Mhz (1 off) (00/0622)
64kb L1-I, 64kb L1-D, 512kb L2 (on-chip)
Memory : 320Mb

Core Emulator
ePSXe : C:\PROGRAM FILES\EPSXE\EPSXE.EXE
: 25/06/2001 20:31, 153088 bytes

*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*
| Type | Name | Version | Date |
*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*
| BIOS | SCPH7502.BIN | | 17/07/2000 23:28 |
| CDR | cdrPeteAspi.dll | 1.7 | 22/09/2001 15:20 |
| GPU | gpuLewGlide.dll | 1.35 | 01/08/2001 20:05 |
| SPU | spuIori.dll | 1.4 | 01/09/2001 22:58 |
*------*----------------------*---------*------------------*

*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| ePSXe Configuration Item | Current Setting |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| Sound Enabled | Yes |
| CDDA Enabled | Yes |
| XA Enabled | Yes |
| XA Read Enabled | Yes |
| SPU IRQ Hack | No |
| CDROM Drive Letter | First Available |
| CDROM Accurate Timing | No |
| Disable CDROM Status | No |
| Disable CDROM RT Status | No |
| MDEC Enabled | Yes |
| MDEC Timing Enabled | Yes |
| SIO IRQ Always Enabled | No |
| Country | NTSC |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*

Glide³
Board : Voodoo5 (tm)
Version : 3.10.00.0658
File : C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\glide3x.dll
: 06/12/2000 20:44, 329728 bytes

*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| Plugin Configuration Item | Current Setting |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*
| Active Configuration | 2 |
| Active 3dfx Card | 1 |
| Enable HotKeys | No |
| Resolution | 640x480 |
| Refresh Rate | 100Hz |
| Emulate MASK Bit | No |
| Dynamic Texture Caching | Yes |
| Custom FrameCap | 60Hz |
| On-Screen Display | Off |
| Frame Skip | Disabled |
| FrameRate Limit | Full-Rate |
| System Type | NTSC |
| FrameCap Method | New |
| Draw Method | Bright |
| Alpha Blending Mode | Advanced |
| Bilinear Filtering | Enabled |
| Alpha Testing | Normal |
| FrameBuffer Access | Write |
| Off-Screen Drawing | Full |
| Polygon Mode | Textured |
| Texture Windows | Enabled |
| VSync | Disabled |
| Banshee Code | Disabled |
| MDEC Format | Texture |
| Experimental Flipping | Off |
| Experimental Screen Sizing | Off |
| FrontBuffer Rendering Fix | Off |
| FF7 TextureWindow Fix | Off |
| DMAChain Fix | Long |
*-----------------------------*---------------------*

I'm thinking of reinstalling ePSXe . . . Thanks in advance!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,808 Posts
Is your FFT pal version???
If yes............
NTSC games -60 fps
PAL games -50 fps
If not
ignore this post.....................
 

·
Scourge of the Seven Seas
Joined
·
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
NTSC. Post ignored :p :stupid: (j/k)
 

·
I code therefore I am.
Joined
·
412 Posts
I get full fps on those games and a bunch of others, but on Final Fantasy Tactics I consistently lose 5-10fps for some reason. I've fiddled around with the settings and tried Pete's D3D too (50-55fps) but nothing. Plus, Lewpy's performs an illegal operation on GPU init more often that not.
Here we go.. speed may be more of an issue of "FF tactics" being mostly a 2d game IE there are a lot of sprites involved. This WILL be slow. D3D glide and other accelerators really can't improve blitting 2d data to the screen much. So .. this will be slower. Impoving this would require monkeying with the DMA chain in the GPU but the programer.. and quite frankley most of the time it's really not necessary :) :cry:

Bottom line is.. :bash: it will involve copying data from the virtual PSX memory into the virtual PSX display memory and copying that data to the display.. no real speed improvement to be had.

Cyb
 

·
Scourge of the Seven Seas
Joined
·
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Alright, I guess . . . but how about my other little problem? The illegal operation on GPU init (the game doesn't matter). Any suggestions for that? :)
 

·
Emu author
Joined
·
1,488 Posts
I don't own FFT, but seeing as how it's a fully 2D game have you tried Pete's soft GPU? It could at least look better, at any rate.

- Exophase
 

·
Scourge of the Seven Seas
Joined
·
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Tried the soft and it looked :spy: I'll stick with the Hardware renderers thank you very much :p .
 

·
Emu author
Joined
·
1,488 Posts
Originally posted by EfrainMan
Tried the soft and it looked :spy: I'll stick with the Hardware renderers thank you very much :p .
Suit yourself, although I don't know how you could prefer the broken up hw filtering. You know that you can turn off the soft filtering if you turn off DDraw acceleration, right?

- Exo
 
K

·
Guest
Joined
·
0 Posts
I am sure it is not the game .. but who knows. With my TNT2 Ultra with the frame limiting off I was able to get these results with Pete's Plugins. I know we have different cards, but it might just be your type of card doesn't handle this game very well. Also forgot to mention this was from a CD. i am sure the fps would be higher if i was using an ISO.

Pete's D3D


Pete's OpenGL


Pete's Software


heh, and people say old cards can't get good fps speeds :p
 

·
I code therefore I am.
Joined
·
412 Posts
that's Speed , i'm waiting for my Geforce 3 , then finally i get speed back ,
The problem isn't the Kyro it's the fact that they skimped on the drivers. This has become a CHRONIC problem in the industry now. People make cards and don't make proper software drivers for them. Finding people to do the drivers is the first problem the second one is that once someone does a driver. Microsoft will change the specs of the OS to obsolete the driver ;)

Anyhow.. don't blame the hardware when it's just the cheapness of the video card maker that's hurting you :)

Cyb
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,750 Posts
Well you could use linux , but what you said is right , Kyro ain't bad , but still it's saver to have nVidia card's or a matrox
 

·
I code therefore I am.
Joined
·
412 Posts
The problem with Kyro and Linux is huge.
ST tightly guards the information on the Kyro chipset which means people can't port MESA to it and a DRI driver can't be made. I think it's silly and foolish to skimp on drivers. Since this is what SELLS the product :)
 

·
Scourge of the Seven Seas
Joined
·
2,412 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
Thanks for the 411 :) I have a VooDoo 5, and Lewpy's looks better than any of Pete's, especially the soft. Lotta things missing or flickering :eek:.
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top