Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, new to the boards, and trying to see if I can get some help.

I am new to the epsxe emulator, and am trying to run FF VIII off the playstation disks. Everything is running fine from the start, but as soon as a battle starts to queue up, the white blur goes to a black screen, and I see absolutely nothing. I can hear the battle music in the background just fine, but the screen stays black until I "ESC" out of the emulator.

Computer specs:
pentiumIII 1g
256 mg ram
nvidia geforce2

using pete's openGL 2.6 in the emulator, have tried different settings in the configuration panel, but so far nothing has worked. Help, please!!!!!

·
From Love and Limerence
6,574 Posts
On slower processor based machines, Kane's settings don't usually work best (mainly, the framebuffer access he has reccomended to 4 will be too much for your CPU). Try these if his reccomendations don't work.

Plugin: Pete's OpenGL Driver 1.1.75 (OpenGL 2.6 is WAY too much for your video card)
Author: Pete Bernert
Card vendor: NVIDIA Corporation
GFX card: GeForce4 MX 440 with AGP8X/AGP/SSE

Resolution/Color:
- 640x480 Fullscreen - NO desktop changing [32 Bit]
- Keep psx aspect ratio: off

Textures:
- R8G8B8A8 (not the faster labeled one, that works faster for ATI cards)
- Filtering: 5 (this is my preference, many others prefer 4 instead, but 5 makes text less pixelated)
- Hi-Res textures: 0
- VRam size: 64 MBytes (adjust if different)

Framerate:
- FPS limitation: on
- Frame skipping: off
- FPS limit: Auto

Compatibility:
- Offscreen drawing: 3
- Framebuffer texture: 2
- Framebuffer access: 0
- Alpha multipass: on
- Mask bit: off
- Advanced blending: on

Misc:
- Scanlines: off
- Line mode: off
- Unfiltered FB: off
- 15 bit FB: off
- Dithering: off
- Screen smoothing: off
- Screen cushion: off
- Game fixes: on [00000002] (Direct Framebuffer Update fix only)

·
Registered
11 Posts