Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all.
I want to extract a car model from the 1999 PS1 Visual Novel, Silver Jiken.
The game's filesystem of what I've checked is VERY cryptic, there's just zero indication as to where or even HOW the game stores it's 3D data. So the method of reverse engineering the 3D files seems to be next to impossible. I'd like to hear you guys' opinion if it would be possible however.
So my impression is the only feasible way is to use an emulator to run the game and then with Cheat Engine find where my desired model is located in the memory.
Can someone give guidance on this, please? I've been trying without success already for a few weeks to get the model.
I by the way came across this interesting article: https://suxin.space/notes/cw-reverse-engineering-models/ but would like some clarification as to what's said there as I'm not a programmer really, and for example would like to know how do I find the beginning of PS1 RAM segment on psxfin or no$psx? Thanks in advance!

·
No sir, I don't like it.
5,507 Posts
There was an app I used years ago for texture and music extraction. It had a free trial forever version and a fully unlocked paid version that exposed the entire file system. I'll see if I can track it down...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Good to hear..so that program would do more than just show the data like how you can see by opening the rom in jpsxdec..? If so then maybe that program could be helpful atleast.

Darn Grasshopper Manufacture for programming this game so trickily.
My strong belief still is the only way is to get and read the coordinate values in the GTE..if someone's well-versed in PSX technicalities and Cheat Engine usage, oh please help haha.

But I'm open to any method, what I want in the end is the absolute minimum of the model data so I can build the model in Blender.

·
No sir, I don't like it.
5,507 Posts