Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I started playing FF8 again in August. But since I have my games with me and my PS2 at home I decided to emulate it for now. Anyways college comes and I study ;) I finally finished yesterday and wanted to load it up again. Yet this time EPSXE does not work.

I can load it up fine, select plugs and things of that variety, but I cannot get it to play the game. I tried ISOing the Disc, I tried loading it as an iso, loading it through the ISO-Drivers, mounting it with Daemon Tools, etc. etc. I change my plugins to simple ones with no special effects; and I haven't messed with my PC configuration in a while.

On top of ALLL this, I tried loading just the BIOS today to see if I can get that to work, and it displays beautifully with sound. But why can't I play now :(

I don't normally use windows, I use Linux but for some reason in Linux I couldn't get it to play nice. I would get a similar (probably unrelated problem ;) ) problem where it loads up but crashes each time. I was thinking about X for a while if that was the problem (Ubuntu here) or something with the nvidia module but since Cedega will play WOW perfectly I don't think that is the problem ;) Oh I do get some weird output in bash but I can't remeber it atm I'll check it later and update incase anyone can actually help me out

Anyways any ideas on how to solve the problems? I know I'm very close to the end of that first disk so I reallly want to be able to get addicted again

·
Premium Member
bsnes, ePSXe
21,982 Posts
well i dont know anything about linux so i cant help you there, but i can help ya with windows.

what did you make the ISO with?

what are your computer's specs, i'll recommend you some plugins to use.

·
The Hunter
15,879 Posts