Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
423 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
As I've been working on Dxbx for about two years now, here a bit of history on Dxbx :

The Dxbx project was started by Shadow_Tj, and was meant to become a 1-to-1 translation of Cxbx (which is written in C) to Delphi.
When I joined the Dxbx project, it was not very far translation-wise; the code that translate Xbox1 executables (XBE's) to windows-native (PE) executables was not working yet, the kernel thunk table wasn't applied correctly and the way the translation was going, it would mean lots of manual labor.

In that light, I first fixed the executable-conversion, made the kernel thunk table loading work, and started on working out a few translation guidelines.
At a certain moment in time, we where able to use the Cxbx kernel DLL, which made us suddenly run actual games! This was faking it to ofcourse, as the actual emulation was running from Cxbx's code, while the intention was to have all emulation code in Delphi.

So we started on translating the Cxbx emulation kernel itself, and quickly realised that there where two parts of Cxbx that where either troublesome to convert to Delphi (the symbol-information structures) or plain incomplete (the kernel thunk table). Later on we encountered another difficulty : Delphi handles interfaces differently from C - which meant we had to find a solution for that too.

Currently, we've overcome most of these problems; I found a way to call into interfaces while avoiding the automatic reference-counting that Delphi does, I implemented many more kernel-API's and have (just yesterday) finished my own symbol-detection engine.