Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I have the dsi and was very disappointed to see that is didn't have a gba slot. The dsi is very well capable of playing gba if it had an emulator to run the roms. My plan is to make a gba emulator for pc and then remake it so that the dsi will mistake it for a dsiware game. then all I have to do is copy it to the system memory and the emulator will apear on the main menu. I have lots of experience with programing, Qbasic, liberty basic, html, java, c, c++, and, python. I also have lots of experience programing robots, bs2, pic, java, propeller, picaxe. I have never made a emulator before and I also have never learned to make a dsi app before (I don't even know which language to use). Can someone point me in the right direction to programing emulators and dsi apps. P.S. if I succede I will make a snes, nes, and atari emulator for dsi.

·
Registered
1,620 Posts
i dont see the point of one when you could have bought the normal ds... the reason gba support was removed is because a large number of users just used a ds to play ds games and not gba, the idea was that if you wanted gba support then stick with an older ds, the other reason is new owners of a ds is very less likely to bother gba games hence it was dropped with the dsi

·
Menthol Flavored
3,925 Posts
Couldn't a GBA emulator be run on a device like the R4 if it was a .nds file with the emulator compiled with the roms in one file like PocketNES files on a GBA flashcart? I read that GBA games can only be run from slot 2, but if it was done the way that I mentioned, it could be possible, right? Sorry if that sounds non-feasible, as I am no programmer myself and do not know all of the technical details of something like this. Back then, an idea like this would be pointless, but with the advent of the DSi, a GBA emulator makes sense.

·
Registered
1,620 Posts