Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there Im new to programming or what they called the noob I just want to know something about C++ I don't understand whats the difference between
#include <iostream.h> to
#include <iostream>
When will i be going to use <iostream.h> and when will i be going to use <iostream>

and also difference between int main() and void main()

can i ask a favor can u teach me C++ programming where did u learn it?
thank you in advance...plsss don't post links i need your answers...

·
War Games coder
1,927 Posts
Between #include <iostream.h> and #include <iostream>, the difference is... well, not much. The #include <iostream> is the new way to do things, which is fully backwards compatible with #include <iostream.h>... only you'll have to include a namespace for which pieces you're using.

For example, when you use #include <iostream> and you're using cout, you need one of the following:

using std::cout;
using namespace std;

If you just #include <iostream.h>, you don't need to worry about it.

Between int main() and void main(), the difference is whether or not your program will return an error code. Generally, if something happens to your program that doesn't normally happen, you return a non-zero value from your main() function. You cannot do this with a void main(). You can check the return value of the last program run from the shell through the variable $?.

For example, consider the following program:
Code:
#include <iostream>
#include <cstring>

using std::cout;
using std::cin;
using std::endl;

int main (int argc, char ** argv)
{
   cout << "Did I work correctly? (yes or no)" << endl;
   char Input[4];
   cin >> Input;
   if(!strcmp(Input, "yes"))
   {
      return 0;
   }
   return 1;
}
Now, compile and run the program in a shell. After completing the program, type "echo $?", and either a 0 or a 1 should appear. Is it clearer now?