Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Okay, I'm guessing this has been done to death, but what the hell, I'm completely new to the whole PSX emulation thing.

I got my hands on Final Fantasy Chronicles {basically FF4 and CC, each on their respective disks}, but I can't get them to run well, let's call it properly. I'm hitting the ePSXe requirements: a 700-odd Mhz CPU, a dinky but I believe adequate Voodoo 2 card and for what it's worth, a Rage 128 stuck into the graphics card.

Problem is, I can't get either game to run both audio and video smoothly... actually, I can't get the audio to run smoothly period but, then again, that's probably because I haven't found a way to turn the video off.

Can anyone tell me how to set the audiovideo configuration so on the overall those two games will be genrally playable? I'm ready to forego any fancy stuff, or in fact sacrifive the overall video quality for a little smoothness. I've toyed around with any possible combination that looked like it made any sense {downloaded every plugin on the site} and, feeling desperate I even followed the step-by-step guide on this site. No luck.

Can anyone help? Better yet, can anyone help and actually do so? :D

Quinch

PS: Oh, if it matters any, I'm running beta W98 {long story, thank got it's only temporary} with DirectX 8 installed.

·
Key To The Universe
2,712 Posts
Well, I own a voodoo2 and I have a worse cpu than yours(Pentium II 400). I run all my games(Chrono Cross and X-Men Mutant Academy) with almost full speed(55-60fps). Make sure that you're using Lewpy's Glide for your voodoo2. For sound, I use Iori's because it sounds the best in my pc. Making an ISO can speed up a LOT the game.

·
Registered
1,830 Posts