Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
The seeker of perfection
4,008 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't know if this fall into the Hardware section or this one.
I want to buy a car mp3/cd player and some speakers.
How many watts are recommended so it sounds good? As i understand it's not only about the wattage of the speakers but the player itself too.
How many tweaters/ subwoofers and/or combinations? Is a box containing a set of speakers reccomended? I want a loud sound (a drum and bass lover here) but able to play songs like the ff ost crystal clear.

I'm a total noob regarding this stuff.
Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
bsnes, ePSXe
23,380 Posts
i'd really recommend going elsewhere as 99.99% of the people here are car newbs.

anyway, all i gotta say is don't cheap out. you can basically get component (3 way) speakers, or you can get 2 way speakers and a subwoofer. whatever you do, dont just power it by the headunit. they are usually like ~200 watts (4x50 or something) and arent powerful enough to drive 3 ways and DEFINITELY not enough to drive a subwoofer.

you're going to probably want a 200 watt headunit, and then get like a 2000 watt 4 way amp for the door speakers (assuming you have 4 door speakers) and then get a 1000 watt mono amp for your subwoofer(s).

remember, DONT CHEAP OUT!! get good speakers like Infinity or something, get a GOOD subwoofer like a Kicker or Rockford Fosgate. get GOOD amps like a Kenwood. if you really need help, dont ask the guy at the shop! it may sound obvious, but they just want you to spend money. are any of your friends experienced in this sort of thing? i'd recommend going down to the shop with them and seeing waht you can get.

·
Registered
848 Posts