Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the scene. So, please accept my sincere apologises if I have commented on something that may irritate you. Perhaps, I should have re-searched a bit better because I have a funny feeling that this question may have been answered before.

Anyway, I have just built this PC about a few good years ago. After hearing about this ePSXe thing, I have gave it a try and ran it with the default settings (the settings from the gpuPeteOpenGL2 plugin.) It ran just fine, no problem whatsoever. However, I just want to know if it's possible to enhance my experience by using the highest settings.

My PC consists of:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+ 2.21GHz
4GB RAM
nVidia GeForce 8500 GT
Windows Vista Ultimate (64bit)
Around 50gb HDD free space left.

Hmm, if I were to assume that I can run the highest settings without any problem. Is it even possible to re-enhance the whole thing more? Are there any other plugins that I should get?

Besides, I'm just wondering how is your experience with the highest settings? Should be I aware of some known risks or problems? Any AMD and nVidia users out there ... ?

BTW, thanks in advance! :)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
Thanks, I have done that and it looks better now!

But, I have just read some debatable (or not) wiki source that states that GeForce 8500 GT (from the GeForce 8 series) is quite similar to 6600 GT (from the GeForce 6 series) therefore rendering 8500 GT useless when compared to the other cards in the same series, such as 8600 GT.

Mozgus has said something about this as well:

Mozgus said:
Mozgus noted that “OpenGL2 is aimed at very good video cards like Geforce 7 or Radeon X1K series and up… Those with weaker video cards should use Pete’s OpenGL plugin (not OpenGL2). Those with no video card should seek a software mode plugin.”