Next Generation Emulation banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So... Kinda new with the whole emulator thing here. My Playstation finally died, after god only knows how many thousand hours of play. Being a self-supporting college student I really don't have money that I can justify spending on a new game console right now, so I did some looking online and found several different Playstation emulators. After a lot of looking and reading it seems like ePSXe has the best reputation in general among them. The only problem is that I'm a retard when it comes to computer specs, so I don't know if my computer can handle it or not. I was hoping if I post what I know about my pc maybe someone here can tell me if it can run ePSXe or not before I go and download a bunch of stuff I might not be able to use, and if I CAN run it possibly make some recommendations for plugins.

If this is laid out wrong I apologize, I'm just copying it right from the menus on my PC. Like I said, I'm a retard about this stuff- I use my pc to do school work on, and occasionally watch a DVD.

Intel Pentium 4 3.00GHz 2.99 GHz CPU, 504 MB RAM
149 GB Memory (159,989,886,976 bytes)
128 GB Free memory (137,513,107,456 bytes)

Minimum Graphics Memory: 8 MB
Maximum Graphics Memory: 128 MB
Graphics Memory in Use: 9 MB
Processor: x86
Processor Speed: 2992 MH
Accelerator in Use: Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family

I appreciate any help or advice that anyone can give.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I downloaded everything, and after some tinkering- and a couple dozen reads of the FAQ and an hour or three searching these forums- managed to work out enough bugs to get it running.

I can tell I'm going to have to tinker with the settings a bit, since I get some weird graphic displays (blurring, after-images, etc.) on some games, but I think I can manage that. It should simply be a matter of trial and error, and some time.