Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So... Kinda new with the whole emulator thing here. My Playstation finally died, after god only knows how many thousand hours of play. Being a self-supporting college student I really don't have money that I can justify spending on a new game console right now, so I did some looking online and found several different Playstation emulators. After a lot of looking and reading it seems like ePSXe has the best reputation in general among them. The only problem is that I'm a retard when it comes to computer specs, so I don't know if my computer can handle it or not. I was hoping if I post what I know about my pc maybe someone here can tell me if it can run ePSXe or not before I go and download a bunch of stuff I might not be able to use, and if I CAN run it possibly make some recommendations for plugins.

If this is laid out wrong I apologize, I'm just copying it right from the menus on my PC. Like I said, I'm a retard about this stuff- I use my pc to do school work on, and occasionally watch a DVD.

Intel Pentium 4 3.00GHz 2.99 GHz CPU, 504 MB RAM
149 GB Memory (159,989,886,976 bytes)
128 GB Free memory (137,513,107,456 bytes)

Minimum Graphics Memory: 8 MB
Maximum Graphics Memory: 128 MB
Graphics Memory in Use: 9 MB
Processor: x86
Processor Speed: 2992 MH
Accelerator in Use: Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family

I appreciate any help or advice that anyone can give.

·
Is this thing on?
2,121 Posts
Yes.
Use Pete's D3D Plugins and Eternal SPU and you are pretty much ready to go.

EDIT:
Note that the minimum specifications for ePSXe (in my context) would be at least:
Intel Pentium III 450MHz Processor
nVidia GeForce 2 MX/3dfx Voodoo 3
64MB RAM

Can't forget those days running ePSXe on the Voodoo 3...works extremely well back then.
Haha.

·
クロスエクス
4,662 Posts
Yup, back then I was using a Voodoo4 with Lewpy's Glide plugin... oh, so many memories. XD