• IBM

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,812 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So now I'm considering getting a completely new PC. I don't want to build my own, I'd screw it up and getting the products would be a huge hassle. I also don't want to get one built by a local PC store, because they'd charge exorbitant amounts of money for labor. This means I'll have to get it from a big OEM co. like HP or Dell. Which do you guys think is the best? Alienware, Falcon, etc. are all way too expensive for me.

Another thing I just thought of: know any OEMs that make PCs with AMD CPUs?

Thanks!

·
Registered
11,307 Posts
HP seems to do a pretty good job lately, and they have an extensive list of PCs with an AMD processor (Dell, on the other hand, has a grand total of 0). Avoid Compaq as if life itself depended on it (it does). I have no experience with IBM, so I won't comment on that.

·
playing FGO
10,133 Posts
Im using HP Vectras in school, and I've found it to be quite ok for my needs.

·
&-)---|--<
8,586 Posts
All I can say is.. Stear away from Compaq.. They suck.. No matter what you do, no matter which computer company you buy from, make sure it's not Compaq.. I don't want to tell you the whole story but it involved money, lies, and crappy customer service.. Now I build my own computer systems and quite glad I do it..

And gateway also sucks.. But not as much as Compaq!..:shout: :rockets: :mg: :laser: :fingers: :dead:

I think alienware is great.. Their systems look freaken awesome.. They have the coolest computer cases.. I would probably consider them if I wanted to buy from an OEM.. I emailed them about just buying one of their cases not the whole computer..

·
Key To The Universe
2,712 Posts