Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Super Moderator
13,069 Posts
- NOD32 2.7
- Kaspersky AV 2009
- Norton 2009 or Norton 2009 Gamer Edition (reluctantly, it will have to be admitted it improved very significantly and features a disturbingly low memory footprint now. Home users used to the old players can find it easy to use. Gamer edition more optimal for gamers. A surprise to see symantec come back to its senses).

·
Registered
7,340 Posts
Not Norton
Not McAfee

Most anything else is halfway decent at least

- Norton 2009 or Norton 2009 Gamer Edition (reluctantly, it will have to be admitted it improved very significantly and features a disturbingly low memory footprint now. Home users used to the old players can find it easy to use. Gamer edition more optimal for gamers. A surprise to see symantec come back to its senses).
No. Bad. Horrible.

As a tech, I can't tell you the sheer volume of issues I've completely resolved with the words "uninstall norton"

·
Registered
2,166 Posts
if you can stand adds at times go with a avria and malwarebytes combo, if not or are want ing the very most extensive antivirus security around (from what ive heard) go for nod32 ive never tried it because it costs but ive heard a hell of alot of good things about it.

·
Registered
3,611 Posts
use a combination of software to keep the computer safe......
1.zone alarm/comodo........first line of defense the firewall
2.spybot search and destroy.......if some fishy spywares lurks into the system
3.avg antivirus........if something bad<like virut series of viruses sneak past the defences>

·
Registered Anime Hater
8,674 Posts
- NOD32 2.7
But that's age old!

Anyway, I've been on this formula for ~the past 8 months:

1) ESET Smart Security: Recently upgraded to v4. Its definitely a lot more customizable with interactive mode to allow specific apps and services to freely communicate.

2) Spybot S&D v1.6.2: Anti-spyware and malware. Pretty light on resources too.

·