Next Generation Emulation banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Bip...Bip...
Joined
·
970 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since I bought my AMD 1900+, I got an Temp of ~60° with a peak at 66° when on full load (like Video compress)!!!...
My fan is an Alpha 6035 (well rated by THG).

Would like to know, sincerly, which temp you got guys with your Athlons?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
265 Posts
The question you need to ask is whether it locks up frequently or not. If it doesn't, then don't worry about the temp.
 

·
<B><font color="lightyellow" size = "1">A BIG BAD
Joined
·
5,568 Posts
hey that's tooo high! afaik, the palomino core is supposed to be cooler than the old thunderbird core.. i don't have an xp1900 so i can't confirm that, but freaking 66C is too high nonetheless.. I have an 1.4 Ghz thunderbird and it idles at 37C and max at 48C .. check if the hsf is fitted properly, check if the airflow inside the case is adequate adding an intake+exhaust fan combo is always good.. if possible check if the hsf has adequate/excess thermal compound used.. or you could try using the arctic silverII compound .. there is a guide at arcticsilver.com about the proper use of this compound, the guide is applicable to any type of compound so you can also check it out here : http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_silver_instructions.html . :)

PS: what's your case and idle temp btw?
 

·
Bip...Bip...
Joined
·
970 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Originally posted by Xeven
hey that's tooo high! afaik, the palomino core is supposed to be cooler than the old thunderbird core.. i don't have an xp1900 so i can't confirm that, but freaking 66C is too high nonetheless.. I have an 1.4 Ghz thunderbird and it idles at 37C and max at 48C .. check if the hsf is fitted properly, check if the airflow inside the case is adequate adding an intake+exhaust fan combo is always good.. if possible check if the hsf has adequate/excess thermal compound used.. or you could try using the arctic silverII compound .. there is a guide at arcticsilver.com about the proper use of this compound, the guide is applicable to any type of compound so you can also check it out here : http://www.arcticsilver.com/arctic_silver_instructions.html . :)

PS: what's your case and idle temp btw?
I think also that's too high.. I checked many times the seal between the heatsink and the proc. The case is not the best in it's class but untill this 1900+ it does his job well. And I used 3 different qualities of compound.... Still the same.. between 59 to 66°C.

Will check again tonight with others coolers and fans..
I'm afraid to roast my AMD...
 

·
<B><font color="lightyellow" size = "1">A BIG BAD
Joined
·
5,568 Posts
was also asking about the operating temp inside the case as well as the idle temp of your cpu.. or maybe you live somewhere very very very hot?:confused:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,126 Posts
Cooling

I suggest you take a look at <a href="http://www.tweak3d.net/articles/casecutting/">this article</a>, and the rest of the site - the article is entitled "Case Cooling/Cutting", and is quite a good read, just like the rest of their cool site :)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
265 Posts
The question you need to ask is whether it locks up frequently or not. If it doesn't, then don't worry about the temp.
 

·
これはバタスです
Joined
·
6,338 Posts
The Athlons are supposed to run very hot. It's just the way they're designed. A temperature of 60 celcius is "normal" for an Athlon. As long as the system is stable there shouldn't be any problems though. Still, maybe you should consider get a better heatsink/fan or some case fans, just in case. A cool CPU is a happy CPU and has a longer lifespan.

Originally posted by Xeven
hey that's tooo high! afaik, the palomino core is supposed to be cooler than the old thunderbird core..
The palomino was supposed to be a lot of things. I think the only real improvement to it was the inclusion of Intel's SSE technology. BTW, does anyone know the difference between the Athlon MP and XP? I know they both use the Palomino core...
 

·
Nintendo Zealot
Joined
·
1,425 Posts
The Athlons are supposed to run very hot. It's just the way they're designed. A temperature of 60 celcius is "normal" for an Athlon.
I thought these new xp athalons were sposed to run lower voltages than the old ones thus generating less heat and aren't they made of some new material that disapates heat better?
I wouldnt be happy if my cpu was that hot..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
301 Posts
amd

hay i don't know but previously i was using intel se440bx2 motherboard and intel celeron processor and i was using voodoo
banshee card.it was giving me lot of crashes since my processor got heat up.for once it only blew up the fan.and then one day
it stop working and then i took it to the manufacturer he told me that the motherboard was originally designed for intel original processors although it supports the celeron but if i use another celeron it will probably stop working again i was using a ppg slot for the celeron since the motherboard did'nt have socket.my vga was also faulty which i know before so it might be my vga.but when i changed the processor my pc run fine.so i guess it the problem of my motherboard as it does not support celeron completely.it might be the reason that different motherboards behave differently.
 

·
Lost in Time
Joined
·
2,289 Posts
Originally posted by onejaz

I thought these new xp athalons were sposed to run lower voltages than the old ones thus generating less heat and aren't they made of some new material that disapates heat better?
I wouldnt be happy if my cpu was that hot..
Well, lower tension doesn't really mean lower temperatures, the lower tension can generate more current and then the heat increases.
 

·
<B><font color="lightyellow" size = "1">A BIG BAD
Joined
·
5,568 Posts
well for most semiconductors doing a die shrink and consequently lowering the voltage, lowers the power consumption as well. In this case design called for a lower voltage but no die shrink (actually its bigger by ~40mils).. but still the assumption is the power consumption should go down.. dunno.. BUT at freaking 1.6 GHz it draws ~46 Amps for crying out loud.. of course it'l be hot..:D
 

·
CoLD InSiDE
Joined
·
2,615 Posts
There is no need to worry about such a temperature. I bought AMD athlon for about two months ago, the temp is pretty much idle between 55 and 62...........I asked many ppl they said its okay..........AMD are ment to run at such temperature..........if you donot trust me then mail AMD and check out what they say.........!

Ali
 

·
Bip...Bip...
Joined
·
970 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Originally posted by Xeven
was also asking about the operating temp inside the case as well as the idle temp of your cpu.. or maybe you live somewhere very very very hot?:confused:
Many Thanks to all. You gave me the answer:
Today I bought a new case (Mid Tower) with a 300W PS and all my Pbs are resolved now : 43° in IDLE mode and 51 at Full Load (38 to 42 for inside the case)... I'm pleased now.....

In fact, if you are using a PS with less than 300W, the PS is heating and the air inside the case goes hoter and hoter.

It was very hard to speak about these problems with the case reselers because most of them doesn't know what they are selling. None of them knows the real safe temp for an AMD and less for an 1900+. Exept one (I have to agree)

So if you think to buy an 1900+ think first for a good and stable PS.
 

·
Lost in Time
Joined
·
2,289 Posts
Congratulations. But if you really want to cool down your CPU, you should consider buying a water cooler, they really chill your CPU.
 

·
Bip...Bip...
Joined
·
970 Posts
Discussion Starter #18
Originally posted by Fou-lu
Congratulations. But if you really want to cool down your CPU, you should consider buying a water cooler, they really chill your CPU.
Was thinking about that but can't find here any reseler who is selling that. And I read from the net that's Noisy...

Finally 44 to 50° is quite a normal temp for an AMD.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
460 Posts
if you think 66c is hot then think when I get my athlon 1.33c, it's 77c+ fark it scared the hell of me, so I take it back to the shop and ask for a exchange the guy there doesn't know why it's so hot either, guess what the new cpu's temperature drop to 52c but I bought myself a ps 450w, I don't know if there is something wrong with amd cpu or not, but definitely I believe, if your cpu temp is crazy high, and you got a proper cpu hfs then it probably you don't had the power to run it, cause the cpu to stress it self to run at that frequency. therefore it's hot like crazy hehe, STUPID AMDs,
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Top